Immortal Guardian - Unite and Conquer album cover.
  • 8.7/10
    IMMORTAL GUARDIAN - Unite And Conquer - 8.7/10


Label: M-Theory Audio
Release date: October 27, 2023
December 1, 2023 on Massacre Records (Europe)

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Are you a fan of Super Metal? If you’ve been keeping track of Immortal Guardian’s rise over the last decade then you know exactly what Super Metal is, and why the term perfectly embodies their sound and style. The band’s third full length album Unite And Conquer is the follow up to 2021’s epic Psychosomatic, and each new album Immortal Guardian evolves a little more, exploring new musical and lyrical themes. Though an American based band, Immortal Guardian is an international team with vocalist Carlos Zema hailing from Brazil, drummer Justin Piedimonte from Canada, and guitarist Gabriel Guardian and bassist Joshua Lopez from the U.S.A..

Understanding Differences

As in the past releases, Immortal Guardian strives to offer a thoughtful message in their compositions on Unite And Conquer. “For generations, humanity has longed for a truth. The right to unite what has been divided. We long to be free from all our differences, genders, colors, nationalities, religions, beliefs, and any other type of separation,” elaborates vocalist Carlos Zema. “This real freedom relies on our minds, in being free from all these fears, repressions, oppressions, and everything else that stops us from being united. In the name of this truth, our voice will echo endlessly – Freedom!”

Guitarist/keyboardist Gabriel Guardian adds: “We definitely took a new direction with our writing process and overall sound on the new album. We tried some new things Immortal Guardian has never done, but also kept a taste of our classic sound in the process. We were all going through some crazy experiences in our lives while making this album, and I think it really reflects in the music. As we did during our Psychosomatic album, we were writing these songs in real time as we lived through these major events in the world and in our personal lives.”

Final Notes

Immortal Guardian – Unite And Conquer is the next phase in the evolution of an already fantastic band that keeps upping the ante with each new album, and running the table. The melodies are huge, the expert layering of vocals is impressive, and the musicianship is at a technical apex rarely reached. Standout tracks include “Echoes”, “Southern Rain”, and the immediate earworm “Roots Run Deep” which features a guest appearance by German Power Metal legend Ralf Scheepers. Fans of Power Metal, Prog Metal, and Neo-Classical Metal will want to get their hands on this album.

Immortal Guardian band photo by Brett_Rivera.
Photo: Brett Rivera.


  • Gabriel Guardian – Keyboard Guitars and Backing vocals
  • Carlos Zema – Lead Vocal
  • Joshua Lopez – Bass Guitar
  • Justin Piedimonte – Drum

Unite and Conquer – Tracklist

  1. Ozona
  2. Echoes
  3. Roots Run Deep
  4. Perfect Person
  5. Divided We Fall
  6. Lost in The Darkness
  7. Southern Rain
  8. Unite and Conquer
  9. Un Dia A La Vez
  10. Rise of the Phoenix


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.