DGM – Life

DGM - Life album cover
  • 8.8/10
    DGM - Life - 8.8/10


Label: Frontiers Records s.l.r.
Release date: November 27, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Italian Prog-Metal masters; DGM are back with what may be their best work yet with their 11th studio album simply titled: Life. Guitarist Simone Mularoni spent the last two years creating an abundance of material, with Life being our first installment from his efforts. Mularoni’s guitar work is stunning, as he duels and harmonizes with keyboardist Emanuele Casali at sometimes lightning speed. Creating the foundation is the fantastic Andrea Arcangeli on bass, with Fabio Costantino’s expressive, powerful drumming. Vocalist Marco Basile’s voice is clean, yet powerful as he weaves hypnotic melodies and harmonies throughout the album.

The Meaning Of “Life”

Here’s what the band had to say about Life:

Life is exactly the sum of all the elements that build the DGM’s sound so far. Over the years we’ve been focusing more and more on the quality of the songs rather than the usual Prog-Metal technical aspects, putting all our efforts in the arrangements and caring about every little detail of each song. We strongly believe that this album is the peak of our songwriting!”

Final Notes

DGM have really out done themselves with Life! The new album has the big melodies and anthemic choruses over catchy guitar/keyboard riffing that sucks you in, and keeps you listening. The riffs are heavy, fast, and bone crunching good on songs like “Dominate” and “To The Core”. The Instrumental “Eve” is closer to fusion, and a highlight of the album. Fans of Dream Theater, Kamelot, and Steve Vai will want to definitely want to pick this one up.

DGM band photo by Marc Papo Ripper.
Photo: Marc Papo Ripper


  • Marco Basile – Vocals
  • Simone Mularoni – Guitars
  • Andrea Arcangeli – Bass
  • Fabio Costantino – Drums
  • Emanuele Casali – Keyboards

Life – Tracklist

  1. Unravel The Sorrow
  2. To The Core
  3. The Calling
  4. Second Chance
  5. Find Your Way
  6. Dominate
  7. Eve
  8. Journey To Nowhere
  9. Leave All Behind
  10. Neuromancer


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.