NITA STRAUSS – The Call Of The Void

Nita Strauss - The Call Of The Void album cover art
  • 8.2/10
    NITA STRAUSS - The Call Of The Void - 8.2/10


Label: Sumerian Records
Release date: July 7, 2022

User Review
6.5/10 (1 vote)

Few guitarists out there have had the honor to be Alice Cooper’s main axe slinger for almost a decade, but Nita Strauss has more than earned that position with her incredible skill and emotional style. First coming to the forefront as “Mega Murray” in the Iron Maidens, Nita Strauss has long since paid her dues, and is now releasing her sophomore album titled Nita Strauss – The Call Of The Void on Sumerian Records.

Don’t Look Down

The Call Of The Void has Nita Strauss playing all guitars and bass, with her fiancé/drummer Josh Villalta and a slew of guest artists all coming together to make a great record. Strauss talks a little about the concept:

“Have you ever been at the top of a high building and had the fleeting thought, … I could jump right now? This feeling is sometimes called The Call of the Void, also known as ‘high place phenomenon’. It’s not a suicidal impulse, rather the exact opposite — a subconscious decision to live your life, to step back from the ledge, and take control. As researcher April Smith aptly put it: An urge to jump affirms the urge to live.”

With the long list of guest musicians, Nita Strauss has given us 14 tracks, six of which are instrumental, and eight with guest vocalists ranging from Alice Cooper to Alissa White-Gluz.

Final Notes

The songs are all very heavy, with incredible guitar work, and solid performances by all of the guest musicians, which creates a fantastic listening experience. Standout tracks include the featured song “The Wolf You Feed”, and “Surfacing” featuring guitar legend Marty Friedman. The bottom line is this is a killer record that could easily be a top release for 2023. Check it out, and make it yours. You’ll be glad you did.

Nita Strauss with guitar.
Photo: Ana Massard


  • Nita Strauss – Guitars and Bass
  • Josh Villalta – Drums

Guest Musicians

  • Alice Cooper
  • Alissa White-Gluz
  • Chris Motionless
  • Lzzy Hale
  • David Draiman
  • Dorothy
  • Anders Fridén
  • Lilith Czar
  • Marty Friedman

The Call Of The Void – Tracklist:

  1. Summer Storm
  2. The Wolf You Feed (feat. Alissa White-Gluz)
  3. Digital Bullets (feat. Chris Motionless)
  4. Through the Noise (feat. Lzzy Hale)
  5. Consume the Fire
  6. Dead Inside (feat. David Draiman)
  7. Victorious (feat. Dorothy)
  8. Scorched
  9. Momentum
  10. The Golden Trail (feat. Anders Fridén)
  11. Winner Takes All (feat. Alice Cooper)
  12. Monster (feat. Lilith Czar)
  13. Kintsugi
  14. Surfacing (feat. Marty Friedman)


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.