NIGHTFEAR – Apocalypse

NIGHTFEAR - Apocalypse
  • 8/10
    NIGHTFEAR - Apocalypse - 8/10


Fighter Records
Release date: February 5, 2020

User Review
8/10 (1 vote)

Madrid’s Nightfear is back with their long awaited 3rd album now on Fighter Records: Apocalypse. The wait was worth it as the band has really brought it all to the table on what can easily be called quintessential Power Metal. One is reminded of other great Power Metal bands when listening to Apocalypse, with Helloween, Gamma Ray and Dragonforce coming immediately to mind. The production is slick, well mixed and an all around a pleasure to hear. From the first listening to the last, they deliver power, speed and all of the anthemic melodies you would come to expect from a top Power Metal band.

The opening track “We are Back” kicks you immediately in the face with rapid fire drums, shredding guitars and powerful vocal melodies. “Shine” follows up with a punchy, melodic anthem; blending harmony guitars with catchy riffs, time changes and razor tight drums. The blend of time signatures is done with expert delivery that makes this song an instant joy to hear. “Living your Life” comes next with a solid chunking riff and again very strong vocal melodies and harmonies that remind one of “Mission Motherland” from Helloween’s epic “Time of the Oath”. The seven remaining tracks all continue to deliver, and are worthy of their place on this great release.

Lorenzo Mutiozabal’s vocals remind one of the great Andreas ‘Andi’ Deris of Helloween, and come with all of the harmonies and catchy melodies that really highlight the band’s great song writing. The twin guitars of Ismael Retana and Ángel Fernández deliver tight harmonies, precision speed riffs and melodic solos that play a big part in making this a great release. Every track on this album has something great to offer the Power Metal fan: from the instrumental “Psichokiller” to “The Stranger.” From beginning to end, Apocalypse delivers great metal all the way around.

If you are love classic Power Metal, this album is for you.


TRACKLIST (Highlights: )

  1. We are Back
  2. Shine
  3. Living your Life
  4. A Better World
  5. The Stranger
  6. Psichokiller
  7. Through the Stars
  8. Nuclear Winter
  9. The Evil in You
  10. Angels of Apocalypse

CD: (00:56:00)



Lorenzo Mutiozabal – vocals
Manuel Moreno – bass
Ismael Retana – guitar
Ángel Fernández – guitar
Osckar Bravo – drums


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.