BALANCE OF POWER – Fresh From The Abyss

Balance Of Power - Fresh From The Abyss album cover
  • 8.6/10
    BALANCE OF POWER - Fresh From The Abyss - 8.6/10


Label: Massacre Records
Release date: April 19, 2024

User Review
8/10 (2 votes)

It’s been 21 years since Balance Of Power released their last studio album Heathen Machine, leaving fans in the lurch. The long wait is over, and it’s definitely been worth it, as the new lineup and album may be their best so far.  Founding members Tony Ritchie (bass) and Lionel Hicks (drums) are joined by the band’s phenomenal new lead vocalist Hazel Jade, as well as guitarists Chris Young and Adam Wardle. Both guitarists have since taken over the reins from Chris Masimore and Stoney Wagner, who helped create/record the new album.

Back With A Vengeance

Written before, during and after the pandemic, the band took a more organic approach, testing themselves with new and different ways of writing their material. Largely about life and death, Fresh From The Abyss is a collection of songs that either stops the clock and points to a moment in time or stands back and encompasses the vastness of time and space, and living and dying.

Final Notes

Balance of Power – Fresh From The Abyss is a great example of a band at the top of their game. Hazel Jade’s vocals are powerful and captivating. The guitar work is crunchy, precise, and just plain awesome. The rhythm section kicks ass, keeping the band driving hard throughout the album. The production by Toby Jepson and Lionel Hicks is top notch. The album is a great listen all the way through, abounding with Heavy Metal earworms like “Monster” and “Last Man Down”. This album has it all, and is so far one of the top releases for 2024. Check it out, pick up a physical copy, and support this band. You’ll be glad you did.

Balance of Power band photo by Photo by Neil Jackson.
Photo: Neil Jackson

Lineup – album

  • Hazel Jade – Lead Vocals
  • Chris Masimore – Guitars
  • Stoney Wagner – Guitars
  • Tony Ritchie – Bass, Vocals
  • Julien Spreutels – Keyboards
  • Lionel Hicks – Drums

Lineup – Live

  • Hazel Jade – Lead Vocals
  • Chris Young – Guitars
  • Adam Wardle – Guitars
  • Tony Ritchie – Bass, Vocals
  • Lionel Hicks – Drums

Fresh From The Abyss – Tracklist

  1. Last Man Down
  2. Never Be Here Again
  3. Monster
  4. Rage Of Ages
  5. Abyss
  6. Velocity
  7. Deadlands
  8. One More Time Around The Sun


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.