FLORIAN ZEPF (THE PROGRESSIVE SOULS COLLECTICE): “We Have Motifs From The First Album As Hidden Easter Eggs”

The Progressive Souls Collective on stage at the 2022 Art Rock Festival

The Progressive Souls Collective first came on the Progressive Metal scene in 2020 with their outstanding debut album Sonic Birth. Four years later, the band has a new lineup that has worked together the last three years, and performed at the 2020 Art Rock Festival in Germany.

The band is releasing their new album in March, aptly titled Sonic Rebirth on Metalville Records, which showcases the new members, as well as several guest artists. Metal Express Radio’s Bryce van Patten had a chat with guitarist/founder Florian Zepf about the new album, the new lineup, their upcoming streaming concert event, and a lot more.


  • Florian Zepf – guitars
  • Vladimir Lalic – vocals
  • Megan Burtt (Gingerbomb) – vocals
  • Jamie Powell and Simen Daniel Lindstad Børven (Leprous) – bass
  • Gerald Peter – keyboards
  • Tim Korycki (Tomorrow’s Eve) – Drums

Guest Appearances

  • Adam Marko – drums
  • Zsolt Kaltenecker (Special Providence) keyboards
  • Luis Conte (Eric Clapton, Phil Collins) – percussion
  • Damiano Della Torre (Luciano Pavarotti, Terence Trent D’Arby, Tom Jones, Joe Cocker) – accordion


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.