ALCATRAZZ – Take No Prisoners

Alcatrazz - Take No Prisoners album cover art.
  • 7.8/10
    Alcatrazz - Take No Prisoners - 7.8/10


Label: Silver Lining Music
Release date: May 19, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

In 1983 Graham Bonnet, Jimmy Waldo and Gary Shea were forming a band, and came upon a young Swedish guitarist Yngwie Malmsteen, who was later replaced by a then virtually unknown Steve Vai. Alcatrazz became famous for Bonnet’s signature vocals, flashy guitars, and a style of metal that was different from their contemporaries. Today fans have two different Alcatrazz bands to listen to, with keyboardist Jimmy Waldo and bassist Gary Shea continuing their brand of Alcatrazz music, and Graham Bonnet doing his own with Graham Bonnet’s Alcatrazz. Waldo/Shea’s Alcatrazz is now fronted by veteran vocalist Doogie White (Rainbow/Michael Schenker Group), and are releasing their second effort with their new lineup titled Take No Prisoners.

About the Album

Alcatrazz – Take No Prisoners is a solid album of ten new songs, with one track “Don’t Get Mad…Get Even” featuring legends Girlschool. Musically, the album covers the gambit from Power Metal to Classic Heavy Metal, with speedy songs like “Bring On The Rawk” and straight forward rockers like “Battle Lines”. Guitarist Joe Stump can certainly cover the shredding required to fit the bill, and Doogie White brings a certain class all his own to the vocal work.

Final Notes

The album has good songs, and the musicianship is of course great with the talented veterans assembled. The production felt like it could have been a little more polished, but nothing stands out in a negative way. Doogie White’s vocals are always good, as he has a knack for this kind of music. Does the band make any new musical statements, or wow with innovations? Probably not. In conclusion, the Waldo/Shea Alcatrazz with Doogie White is a very good band, and the songs are all worthy of a listen. Fans of Power Metal, Traditional Heavy Metal and Melodic Metal will all find things to like here, as to the question whether or not the band captures the magic that makes it an Alcatrazz album is in the end for the listener to decide.

Alcatrazz Press Photo 2023


  • Jimmy Waldo – keyboards
  • Gary Shea – bass
  • Doogie White – lead vocals
  • Joe Stump – guitar
  • Larry Paterson – drums

Take No Prisoners – Tracklist

  1. Little Viper
  2. Don’t Get Mad…Get Even (feat. Girlschool)
  3. Battlelines
  4. Strangers
  5. Gates of Destiny
  6. Alcatrazz
  7. Holy Roller (Love’s Temple)
  8. Power in Numbers
  9. Salute the Colours
  10. Bring on the Rawk


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.