FROZEN LAND – Out Of The Dark

Frozen Land - Out of the Dark album cover
  • 7.8/10
    FROZEN LAND - Out Of The Dark - 7.8/10


Label: Massacre Records
Release date: June 16, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

5 years since their self-titled debut album, and Finnish Power Metallers Frozen Land are back with Out Of The Dark. With seven new Power Metal tracks, and two Eurodance tracks, the album has highs and lows, but overall Out Of The Dark a lot going for it.

Strong Sophomore Effort

Out Of The Dark harkens back to the days of early Helloween with their style of Power Metal, and convincingly so. The guitar work by Tuomas Hirvonen is excellent, from catchy riffs to flying solos, to high speed rhythms. Italian Vocalist Tony Meloni has a great voice, reminding this reviewer of another Italian singer: Fabio Minchillo of The Prowlers. Meloni has everything it takes for great Power Metal vocals, and a great sense of melody. From the opening cut “King’s A Bitch” to the ballad “Don’t You Ever Leave Me”, Tony Meloni shows his versatility and vocal prowess. The album has great production, mixed by Nino Laurenne and Juho Mäntynen at Sonic Pump Studios, and was mastered by Svante Forsbäck at Chartmakers Studios.

Final Notes

Frozen Land – Out Of The Dark has a lot to offer Power Metal fans around the world. Though it’s understood that guitarist Tuomas Hirvonen has an affinity for Eurodance, the last two songs feel very out of place with the previous seven, taking the listener out of the zone and mood the Power Metal tracks so adroitly created. It’s definitely not a deal breaker, but does lower the overall ranking as a Heavy Metal album. Overall, even if you don’t care for the Euro Dance cuts, this is a great album that will satisfy the Power Metal fans.

Frozen Land band photo 2023
Photo by Hank J Newman and Fotolab Studio, Italy

Frozen Land – Lineup

  • Tony Meloni – Vocals
  • Tuomas Hirvonen – Guitars, Backing Vocals, Vocals
  • Aleksi Salomaa – Bass
  • Antti Sorsa – Keyboards
  • Aki Kuokkanen – Drums

Out of the Dark – Track Listings

  1. King’s A Bitch
  2. The Prophecy
  3. Dying Of The Light
  4. Don’t You Ever Leave Me
  5. The Northern Star
  6. White Lightning
  7. Out Of The Dark
  8. The Slayer
  9. Señorita


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.