MILLENNIUM – The Sign of Evil

MILLENNIUM - The Sign of Evil album cover
  • 6.3/10
    MILLENNIUM - The Sign of Evil - 6.3/10


Label: No Remorse Records
Release date: May 23, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

New Wave of British Heavy Metal band Millennium released their fourth album, The Sign of Evil, on No Remorse Records on May 23, 2023. This is their follow-up to 2019’s release A New Awakening.


Millennium was formed in 1982 in England releasing their self-titled album in 1984. That album was hailed as one of the best NWOBHM in 1984 along with the likes of Spartan Warrior, Elixir, Tytan, Blind Fury, and Cloven Hoof. In the following years, the band released a series of demos but never released a full album. In the late 1980s, the band split up.

The Millennium album was reissued on CD format by No Remorse Records in 2014 including 8 bonus tracks, and during that period the band was reunited since there was a demand for live shows. Since joining No Remorse Records in 2016, Millennium has released Awakening (2017) and A New World (2019). Mark Duffy (vocals) has been in Millennium since its inception in 1982. The current lineup as credited with being in the band since 2022 includes Ken Wilson (guitar), Liam Mulpetre (guitar), Duncan Emmerson (bass), and Ivy Mead (drums).

The Sign of Evil

The Sign of Evil has a runtime of forty-nine minutes across ten songs. For those not familiar with Millennium, the sound on this record is driven by heavy riffs and uptempo traditional Metal beats reminiscent mixing Judas Priest and elements of Helstar (Nosferatu era). There are elements of Power Metal on this album in the track, “Thy Kingdom Come” which is also the longest track on the album clocking in over 7 minutes. “Hell on Earth” and “No Redemption” are mid-tempo Traditional Heavy Metal songs.

Lyrical themes are dark (to know one’s surprise based on the album cover). The lead single “There Is A Devil” portrays the Devil either forcing his way in or coming out in the fabric of current society.

The production on the album is solid as every member is audible and clear. The tone of the album feels slightly down-tuned which produces a nostalgic effect to the songs. Mark Duffy’s vocals are clear with a hint of rasp that gives the songs an aggressive edge. The playing by the musicians in the band is good but overall there aren’t any standout performances that make this effort stand out.

Final Thoughts

Millennium’s newest release is a solid dose of blackened New Wave of British Heavy Metal. Heavy riffs are plenty throughout the album yet doesn’t feel too repetitive. There is no new ground really broken here but definitely a good and enjoyable listen for those who like the evil and dark side of Metal.


  1. There is a Devil
  2. Virus
  3. Hell Is My Home
  4. The Sign of Evil
  5. Thy Kingdom Come
  6. Hell On Earth
  7. No Redemption
  8. Fall from Grace
  9. Nightmares
  10. March of the Damned


Mark Duffy – Vocals
Liam Mulpetre – Guitars
Ken Wilson – Guitars
Duncan Emmerson – Bass
Ivy Mead – Drums


  • Mark Zagotti

    Mark is a reviewer for Metal Express Radio since 2022. He first discovered the power of Hard Rock in 1985 as a teen when he first listened to Twisted Sister's cassette Stay Hungry. In his teen years, Mark was introduced to bands such as Kiss, Metallica, and enjoying the time that Rock and Metal ruled MTV. His first Heavy Metal concert was Clash of the Titans in 1991, where he experienced the site of a SLAYER mosh pit for the first time. Ever since that moment he has been a METAL HEAD for life. Mark's musical tastes have expanded over the years enjoying music from bands ranging from Ghost, Amorphis, Paradise Lost, the Big 4, Behemoth, and just about everything in between.    

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.