OZZY OSBOURNE – Patient Number 9

Ozzy Osbourne - patient Number 9 album cover art
  • 8.9/10
    OZZY OSBOURNE - Patient Number 9 - 8.9/10


Label: Epic Records
Release date: September 9, 2022

User Review
6/10 (1 vote)

Long Live The Prince Of Darkness

Ozzy Osbourne is back with a vengeance, and his 13th studio album titled Patient Number 9 is bigger and better by far than his last release Ordinary Man. No Rap, just sophisticated Heavy Metal that we’ve come to expect from the biggest star in the genre. Like the last album, Ozzy has brought along an impressive number of guest musicians that staggers the mind, with the likes of Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, and of course his old bandmate Tony Iommi. The impressive list also includes his long time guitarist Zakk Wylde, along with Dave Navarro (Janes Addiction, Red Hot Chili Peppers), Mike McCready (Pearl Jam), Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age), Robert Trujillo (Metallica), Duff McKagan (Guns N’ Roses), Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers), and the late Taylor Hawkins (Foo Fighters).

Ozzy + Legendary Guitarists = Awesome

While this album is again produced by Andrew Watt, the difference between this release and the last is massive. Gone are the terrible clipping mixes that sound like you’ve blown your speakers. Gone is the Rap song that no place being on the last record. Gone is Andrew Watt’s guitar playing, which wasn’t up to snuff with what Ozzy fans are used to, and have come to expect. While Watt co-wrote the album with Ozzy and friends, he’s wisely let the big names do the heavy lifting on the recording. Patient Number 9 far outshines Ordinary Man in every way possible, with the title track being an instant ear worm.

Final Notes

Every song on Patient Number 9 has something great to offer. From the heavy duty songs with Iommi to the sweet guitar work of Eric Clapton, the album captivates the listener instantly, and holds on from the start to the last track. This reviewer found the Tony Iommi tracks to be the favorites, taking us back to where it all started in Black Sabbath, but with a modern sound and style that puts the album over the top. While Ozzy may be getting older, he’s definitely not losing his touch. This is an album every Heavy Metal fan can get behind, and they should. Add this super gem to your collection, and revel in the power of The Prince of Darkness in his top form.

Ozzy Osbourne - Patient Number Nine Promo photo


Ozzy Osbourne – lead vocals, harmonica

Additional musicians

Zakk Wylde – Rhythm Guitar (Tracks 1-3, 6-9, 11, 12) Lead Guitar (Tracks 3, 7-9) Keyboards (Tracks 1, 5, 9) Organ (Track 8)
Jeff Beck – guitar (tracks 1, 6)
Tony Iommi – guitar (tracks 4, 10)
Mike McCready – guitar (track 2)
Eric Clapton – guitar (track 5)
Josh Homme – guitar[23][24] Dave Navarro – guitar (track 12)
Robert Trujillo – bass
Duff McKagan – bass
Chris Chaney – bass
Chad Smith – drums
Taylor Hawkins – drums

Patient Number 9 – Tracklist

01. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
02. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
03. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
04. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
05. One Of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
06. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
07. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
08. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
09. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
11. Dead And Gone
12. God Only Knows
13. Darkside Blues


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.