WARWOLF – Necropolis

WarWolf - Necropolis album cover art
  • 8/10
    WARWOLF - Necropolis - 8/10


Label: Metalapolis Records
Release date: July 29, 2022

User Review
8.5/10 (2 votes)

More Maiden than Maiden

Remember when Iron Maiden had galloping guitars galore? Remember when Iron Maiden was not doing Celtic Metal? Remember when Iron Maiden had songs shorter than 7 minutes? WarWolf certainly does. From the ashes of Wolfen rises WarWolf, a German Heavy Metal band that has dedicated themselves to bringing back the sounds of the NWOBHM in a big way. Hailing from Cologne, Germany the band has decided to ignore current musical trends and focus entirely on creating music that could easily have come from 1985. WarWolf – Necropolis has all of the fun stuff that Heavy Metal fans love about the 1980s Metal, and a lot more!

About the Album

10 tracks of lively Metal, produced by Chris Boltendahl, lead singer of the German Metal institution GRAVE DIGGER. The musical focus of WarWolf – Necropolis is a conscious step back, a journey back in time to the early decades of heavy music. Right from the opening track “Daywalker” we are reminded of “Aces High”, with all of the excitement of twin guitars and melodic screams. “Nosferatu” kicks you in the face with great harmony vocals, crunchy dual guitars and harmony leads. The epic title track “Necropolis” delivers on all levels. Every track on the album has something to offer, making it a fun experience from start to finish.

Final Notes

The bottom line is that this new configuration of Metal veterans that make up WarWolf have created a very good, very listenable album. Does it sound like a tribute to early Iron Maiden? Absolutely. Does that bother this reviewer? Not in the least. Necropolis is a great album, with all of the energy and chops to keep you coming back for more. A definite 2 horns up for WarWolf – Necropolis. Worth throwing down for, and adding to your album collection

WarWolf band photo


Andreas von Lipinski – vocals
Frank Noras – guitars
Björn Grüne – guitars
Florian Abegg – bass
Holger Bloempott – drums

Freedom – Tracklist

01. Daywalker
02. Nosferatu
03. Dawn Of Destiny
04. Necropolis
05. Clan Of The Undead
06. When The Hangman Cries
07. Cold Blood
08. Slaves Of The Night
09. Witches & Demons (bonus track)
10. The Priest (bonus track)


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.