PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS - Kings of the Asylum cover art
  • 7.3/10
    PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS - Kings of the Asylum - 7.3/10


Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Release date: September 1, 2023

User Review
9/10 (2 votes)

Guitarist Phil Campbell has proven that there is life after Motörhead. Originally formed as a side project, Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons, which fittingly includes his three sons in the lineup, released their self-titled EP in 2016. Two years later, the band released their debut studio album, The Age of Absurdity, which garnered positive reviews from fans and critics alike. Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons released a follow-up album, We’re the Bastards, in 2020, which was more successful than its predecessor. The band went back to the studio in early 2022 to work on their third studio album, Kings of the Asylum. Other than Joel Peters replacing Neil Starr on lead vocals, the lineup remains the same with Phil and Todd on guitars, Tyla on bass guitar, and Dane on drums.

No Ballads, Just Bangers

Kings of the Asylum hits hard because there are no ballads on this album. It’s banger after banger after banger. There are the straightforward rockers like “Too Much is Never Enough” and “The Hunt.” There’s also the commercial and hook-laden tracks like album opener “Walking in Circles” and “Strike the Match.” To spice things up even further, a major highlight of the album is the title track, which is mid-tempo and a little bluesy. “Show No Mercy” is the motivational workout song that represents empowerment, all while grooving to a killer bass line.

Kings of the Asylum is a Heavy Metal album, with elements of Hard Rock and Punk Rock thrown in there. Like Punk Rock, the songs have a rebellious nature to them, including the explicit closing track, “Maniac.” Overall, it’s a great sounding album that’s not overproduced. Playing-wise, there are some extraordinary guitar solos on this album, the bass lines are dark and heavy, and Peters’ vocals are incredible. He has that raspy, yet melodic vocal style that brings a commercial aspect to Kings of the Asylum.

Closing Thoughts

With already an impressive resume under his belt from Motörhead, Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons show no signs of slowing down any time soon. Guess it turned out to be a good thing that music runs in the Campbell family.

Album Tracklist

  1. Walking in Circles
  2. Too Much is Never Enough
  3. Hammer and Dance
  4. Strike the Match
  5. Schizophrenia
  6. Kings of the Asylum
  7. The Hunt
  8. Show No Mercy
  9. No Guts! No Glory!
  10. Ghosts
  11. Maniac

Band Lineup

Phil Campbell – guitars
Todd Campbell – guitars
Tyla Campbell – bass guitar
Dane Campbell – drums
Joel Peters – lead vocals


  • Lana Teramae

    Lana is a reviewer at Metal Express Radio from Honolulu, Hawaii. She's always had a passion for music, but she didn't get into Hard Rock and Heavy Metal music until she discovered Rick Allen's story in the summer of 2019. She was inspired by his determination to play drums for Def Leppard again after losing his left arm in a car accident. From there, her tastes expanded to other bands such as AC/DC, Bon Jovi, Metallica, Judas Priest, Saxon, Cinderella, and Overkill. Aside from listening to music, she loves watching YouTube and writing on her personal blog.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.