SIX FOOT SIX – Beggar’s Hill

Six Foot Six - Beggars Hill album cover art
  • 7.8/10
    SIX FOOT SIX - Beggar's Hill - 7.8/10


Label: Scarlet Records
Release date: December 8, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Originally dubbed The Six Foot Six Project, band founder and vocalist Kristoffer Göbel (ex-Destiny, ex-Falconer) has brought us the third album by Six Foot Six with a very special guest drummer, Snowy Shaw. The album is titled Beggar’s Hill on Scarlet Records. Original band member, guitarist Christoffer Borg is back, and sounding amazing with harmony solos, and shredding leads. Bassist Markus Gustafsson also returns as a full band member, laying down a solid, heavy bottom.

Enter Snowy Shaw

Continuing the tradition of inviting special guests to play on each album, Kristoffer Göbel has invited legendary drummer Snowy Shaw (Therion, ex-King Diamond, ex-Dream Evil) to create the hard hitting, teeth rattling drums that Six Foot Six thrives on.

Final Notes

Six Foot Six – Beggar’s Hill is a slickly produced collection of 11 kick ass Traditional Heavy Metal songs. The band’s influences are on their sleeve for all to hear, with the Iron Maiden-esque trademark galloping beats, harmony guitars and at times Bruce Dickinson sounding vocals. Several of the songs also are in a 6/8 swing like much of later Iron Maiden albums also seem to favor. The cool thing is the big melodies, and the sing along choruses, and the bit of nostalgia that the album brings.

The artwork is stunning, with the reoccurring plague doctor character looking even more sinister. Standout tracks include the pirate like sing-a-long title track “Beggar’s Hill”, the super heavy “Voice Inside”, and the three part “A Templar’s Tale”. Fans of Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, and Metallica should all appreciate the new Six Foot Six release, as they have a knack for bringing Classic Heavy Metal styles back to life for the modern audience.

Six Foot Six band photo in 2023.
Photo: Jörgen Hinder.


  • Kristoffer Göbel – vocals
  • Christoffer Borg – guitars
  • Markus Gustafsson – bass

Guest Artist

  • Snowy Shaw – drums

Beggar’s Hill -Tracklist

  1. Raise the Dead
  2. Tears
  3. Voices Inside
  4. Beggar’s Hill
  5. Analog Man
  6. Riding the Tide
  7. Fires Will Burn
  8. The Prodigy (A Templar’s Tale Pt. 1)
  9. The Siege (A Templar’s Tale Pt. 2)
  10. The Homecoming (A Templar’s Tale Pt. 3)
  11. Pete MacOats


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.