OSYRON – Kingsbane [Deluxe Edition]

OSYRON - Kingsbane
  • 8.5/10
    OSYRON - Kingsbane [Deluxe Edition] - 8.5/10


Self Rerelease
Release date: May 14, 2021

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Fresh Look at a New Classic

Canada’s own Symphonic Metal veterans Osyron have decided to take a fresh look at their 2017 album Kingsbane, releasing a remix/remaster of the original 7 tracks plus 3 bonus tracks with new drummer Cody Anstey. As this reviewer had no access to the original release, the review is based purely on the merits of the album, and not a comparison between the new and old versions. The band’s origins can be traced back to Ontario, where they began under the name Morbid Theory. After releasing two demos (Chaos Breed in 2006 and Harbinger in 2010), the band underwent some changes in membership, scenery, and identity. The new lineup includes Reed Alton on vocals, Krzysztof Stalmach and Bobby Harley on guitars, and Tyler Corbett on the bass.

New Versions

Besides remixing the original songs, Osyron have taken the time and effort to give us 3 rewritten and rearranged bonus tracks of the songs “Viper Queen”, “Griefmaker”, and “Razor’s Wind” (acoustic version) with current drummer Cody Anstey. The original recordings of the 3 bonus tracks were written by guitarists Krzysztof Stalmach and Bobby Harley, but for the Deluxe Edition the whole band took part in the process. The album was also entirely remixed by bassist Tyler Corbett and remastered by drummer Cody Anstey.

Final Notes

Osyron is a band that takes matters into their own hands and literally does most of the production and studio work in-house. They have lovingly remixed their last album, and given fans old and new a brand new take on three songs which are worth the price of the album on their own. The music is all well executed and conceived, and the musicianship is top-notch for every player. Whether you already have the original release or not, the Kingsbane – Deluxe Addition is more than worth the price to add to your collection.

Osyron band photo
Left to right: Krzysztof Stalmach, Cody Anstey, Bobby Harley, Reed Alton, Tyler Corbett


Reed Alton – Vocals
Krzysztof Stalmach – Guitar
Bobby Harley – Guitar
Tyler Corbett – Bass
Cody Anstey – Drums

Kingsbane Deluxe Edition – Track list

01. From Ashes
02. To War
03. Razor’s Wind
04. Viper Queen
05. Griefmaker
06. Kingsbane
07. Empire of Dust
08. Kingmaker
09. Razor’s Wind (Acoustic) (Bonus Track)
10. Griefmaker (Rerecorded) (Bonus Track)
11. Viper Queen (Rerecorded) (Bonus Track)

Album Length: 1:12


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.