GLORYHAMMER – Legends from Beyond the Galactic Terrorvortex

GLORYHAMMER - Legends from Beyond the Galactic Terrorvortex
  • 6.5/10
    GLORYHAMMER - Legends from Beyond the Galactic Terrorvortex - 6.5/10


Napalm Records
Release date: May 31, 2019

User Review
5/10 (1 vote)

Alestorm frontman Christopher Bowes founded Gloryhammer in 2009 with a conceptual focus on the fantasy genre and a Power Metal delivery. In the spirit of full disclosure, their third full-length release is as clear as starburst laser blast across the bow of your dragon wing space cruiser.  It’s touted as the epic battle between Crown Prince Angus McFife and evil.  With song titles featuring a terrorvortex, a galaxy, unicorns, dragon fire, and an enchanted jetpack, it’s clear the band intends to cover a universe of fantasy topics.

They take off with an orchestral tinged Star Wars inspired fanfare then launch into “The Siege Of Dunkeld (In Hoots We Trust)” which matches the tone and intensity of a Powerwolf song at their most bombastic. The hard-hitting formula of melodic keyboard accents, growling guitar churn, confident lead vocals, menacing narratives and gang vocal choruses continue unabated throughout most of the album.  “Power Of The Laser Dragon Fire” and “Legendary Enchanted Jetpack” land a bit flat and lack the joyous and chaotic melodic intensity of most tracks.  “Gloryhammer” provides a mid-tempo respite from the high speed frolics with steady riffs and a simple chorus befitting the song’s title.  The intensity and exuberance of “Hootsforce” and “Battle For Eternity” are easy to appreciate. The capstone track “The Fires Of Ancient Cosmic Destiny” is a five-part behemoth clocking in at over twelve and half minutes and features overwhelming narration.

There are bands aplenty dealing escapism Power Metal.  Legends from Beyond the Galactic Terrorvortex is a treat for the few fans whose tastes lie within the intersection of Fantasy and Power Metal.  Casual fans who can suspend disbelief and forgive the goofy lyrical premise will enjoy a well-produced and highly spirited Power Metal performance.


TRACKLIST (Highlights: 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9)

  1. Into the Terrorvortex of Kor-Virliath
  2. The Siege of Dunkeld (In Hoots We Trust)
  3. Masters of the Galaxy
  4. The Land of Unicorns
  5. Power of the Laser Dragon Fire
  6. Legendary Enchanted Jetpack
  7. Gloryhammer
  8. Hootsforce
  9. Battle for Eternity
  10. The Fires of Ancient Cosmic Destiny
    I: Dundaxian Overture
    II: The Battle of Cowdenbeath
    III: Return of the Astral Demigod of Unst
    IV: The Knife of Evil
    V: Transmission


Angus McFife XIII, Crown Prince of Fife – Vocals
Ser Proletius, Grand Master of the Deathknights of Crail – Guitars
The Hootsman, Astral Demigod of Unst – Bass
Zargothrax, Dark Emperor of Dundee – Keyboards
Ralathor, the Mysterious Submarine Commander of Cowdenbeath – Drums


  • Zac Halter

    Zac was a reviewer here at Metal Express Radio, hailing from Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA. His interest in heavy music began in the 70s with his father’s Johnny Cash albums. After cousins introduced him to Steppenwolf, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, KISS, Black Sabbath and Deep Purple, Johnny Cash didn’t stand a chance. The 80s were spent in full pursuit of everything Metal: searching for new music at record stores, listening to albums, studying the covers and sleeves, and attending concerts. In the 90s, he preferred Death Metal over Grunge and hosted the Death Metal Juggernaut on WUPX in Marquette, Michigan. It was advertised as the only prime time Death Metal radio show in the country.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.