• 9.2/10
    SECRET SPHERE - Lifeblood - 9.2/10


Label: Frontiers Music s.r.l.
Release date: March 12, 2021

User Review
8.5/10 (1 vote)

Roberto Messina is Back!

Italian Power Prog Metal masters Secret Sphere are back with their 10 studio album titled Lifeblood, which is a return to form with original vocalist Roberto Messina (Alkemyst, ex-Hemisphere, ex-Highlord) back in the lineup. The band was founded in 1997 by guitarist Aldo Lonobile (Archon Angel, Edge of Forever, Sweet Oblivion), and has since become a staple for European Power Prog Metal fans. Roberto Messina and Aldo Lonobile are joined by the amazing talents of Andrea Buratto (Eternal Idol, Hell in the Club) on the bass, Gabriele Ciaccia (Odd Dimension) on the keyboards and Marco Lazzarini (Archon Angel, Hell in the Club, Odd Dimension) playing drums.

Killer Power Prog

Lifeblood brings the band back to the original energy and feel that made Secret Sphere what they are today, a kick ass metal act that ages like fine wine. The album celebrates the classical sound of Secret Sphere with more energy, bombastic arrangements, and memorable choruses that make this release something very special indeed.

Top Tracks

Every song on Lifeblood is a winner, but for the highlights we can start with the title track with its great guitars, fabulous vocals, moody keyboards and flying drums to get your blood pumping. “Alive” is full of power and energy, reminiscent of the great Italian Power Prog Metal sound from 20 years ago. Another highlight is “Solitary Fight” which clocks in at just over 6 minutes and sounds like a blend of Helloween and Dream Theater, served up Italian style.

Final Notes

It’s a magical thing when a band can rekindle the fire that lit the flame, and sound just as relevant and fresh on their 10th album as when they started. Secret Sphere has done that on Lifeblood, making it a real gem. Fans of Helloween, Dream Theater, Kamelot and Power Prog Metal will definitely want to add this to their collection, it’s worth every penny.

Secret Sphere-band photo


Roberto Messina – voice
Aldo Lonobile – guitars
Andrea Buratto – bass
Gabriele Ciaccia – keyboards
Marco Lazzarini – drums

Lifeblood – Tracklist

01. Shaping Reality
02. Lifeblood
03. The End Of An Ego
04. Life Survivors
05. Alive
06. Against All The Odds
07. Thank You
08. The Violent Ones
09. Solitary Fight
10. Skywards
11. The Lie We Love


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.