DEATH ANGEL – Humanicide

DEATH ANGEL - Humanicide
  • 8/10
    DEATH ANGEL - Humanicide - 8/10


Nuclear Blast Records
Release date: May 31, 2019

User Review
8.5/10 (1 vote)

Bay Area Thrash Metallers Death Angel are still standing after over three decades in the game.  Their ninth studio album is a testament to their recent stability. It’s the first time the band has recorded more than three albums with the same lineup. This maturation is apparent in the songwriting variety and complexity.

Further, this is the fourth album with the same producer of their raw, heavy and organic Thrash sound.  Humanicide is an engaging album of varied influences and styles.  The Thrash is omnipresent but not repetitive.  The band says it decided to be progressive by blending sounds from a variety of elements and pushed to make the sound modern.

The title track leads with an escalating melodic guitar fanfare recalling “Hellion” from Judas Priest’s Screaming For Vengeance.  It shifts into precision Thrash delivered with vocals clearly annunciated one syllable at a time.  “Divine Defector” follows with high oscillation riffs similar to those on Amon Amarth songs “Twilight Of The Thunder God” and “Live Without Regrets”.  Early career Megadeth is heard in “Aggressor” and “Ghost Of Me.”  “I Came For Blood” has a high speed road tripping sound resulting from cross pollinating Hair Metal and Thrash Metal. “Immortal Behated” best reflects the progression of the band’s sound with both a melodic intro and outro complete with the band’s first use of a piano.  The menacing mid-tempo riffing delivered in between is dripping with menace and explodes with violence when the tension becomes uncontainable. “Alive And Screaming” overflows with Thrash energy and “The Pack” delivers head stomping rhythm, short on melody and long on anthemic riffs in the style of Hatebreed and Pro-Pain.

Death Angel state they’re ripe with vigor and invested substantial energy in their career.  Humanicide proves Death Angel has a relevant message, the passion to deliver it, and the chops to execute.  Easily recommended for Thrash Metal fans!


TRACK LIST (Highlights: 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8,  )

  1. Humanicide
  2. Divine Defector
  3. Aggressor
  4. I Came For Blood
  5. Immortal Behated
  6. Alive and Screaming
  7. The Pack
  8. Ghost of Me
  9. Revelation Song
  10. Of Rats and Men
  11. The Day I Walked Away (Bonus Track)


  • Mark Osegueda – lead vocals
  • Rob Cavestany – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Ted Aguilar – rhythm guitar
  • Damien Sisson – bass
  • Will Carroll – drums


  • Zac Halter

    Zac was a reviewer here at Metal Express Radio, hailing from Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA. His interest in heavy music began in the 70s with his father’s Johnny Cash albums. After cousins introduced him to Steppenwolf, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, KISS, Black Sabbath and Deep Purple, Johnny Cash didn’t stand a chance. The 80s were spent in full pursuit of everything Metal: searching for new music at record stores, listening to albums, studying the covers and sleeves, and attending concerts. In the 90s, he preferred Death Metal over Grunge and hosted the Death Metal Juggernaut on WUPX in Marquette, Michigan. It was advertised as the only prime time Death Metal radio show in the country.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.