REVERENCE – Vengeance Is…Live

REVERENCE - Vengeance Is…Live
  • 4/10
    REVERENCE - Vengeance Is…Live - 4/10


ROAR! Rock Of Angels Records
Release date: December 7, 2018

User Review
8/10 (2 votes)

The seasoned members of Reverence describe their sound as “…a sonic cocktail of classic era Savatage, Queensryche and Judas Priest…” with soaring vocals, brutal guitar riffs, intense solos and thunderous drumming. Their latest release is meant “…to showcase their incredible electric live performances” and be “…a true testament to the bands high energy stage show and stellar musicianship.”

While they are Traditional Heavy Metal, their attempt at being a ‘can’t miss’ live act is a dismal failure. Lead track “When Darkness Calls” encapsulates the rest. The musicians are accurate but uninspired and the vocalist repeatedly forces his range. The result is a listless rendering of songs which fails to generate excitement or showcase anything new. The vocalist sounds like a tired version of Bruce Dickinson mixed with Geoff Tate nursing a head cold. There are cringeworthy flat notes, pitch issues and an overall delivery malaise. The vocals on “Firelord” are so cringe worthy they generate sympathy rather than excitement. Even the crowd reaction captured on the recordings seems disingenuous. The mix is so clumsy it sounds as if the band is playing in front of 40 people who’ve never been to a Metal show.

Reverence has good material to showcase such as “Race To Obscene” and “Too Late”. Their performance here lacks intensity and depth, and dooms even their strongest material. Vengeance Is…Live is likely to disappoint current fans and unlikely to make new ones. Pass on this one. Your time is too valuable.



  1. When Darkness Calls
  2. Until My Dying Breath
  3. FireLord
  4. Angel In Black
  5. Too Late
  6. Bleed For Me
  7. New Order
  8. Gods Of War
  9. Power Of The Night (Savatage)
  10. The Price You Pay
  11. Race To Obscene
  12. Phoenix Rising
  13. Vengeance Is Mine
  14. Wasted Years (Iron Maiden)
  15. Revolution Rising


Scott Oliva (ex-Wind Wraith, Innerstrength) – Vocals
Bryan Holland (ex-Tokyo Blade) – Lead/Rhythm Guitars
Steve ‘Doc Killdrums’ Wacholz (ex-Savatage, Crimson Glory) – Drums
Paul Kleff (ex-Metal Church live, FireWolfe) – Guitars
Russ Pzutto (Twisted Sister live, Dee Snider) – Bass
Guest appearance by Tony Rossi – drums


  • Zac Halter

    Zac was a reviewer here at Metal Express Radio, hailing from Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA. His interest in heavy music began in the 70s with his father’s Johnny Cash albums. After cousins introduced him to Steppenwolf, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, KISS, Black Sabbath and Deep Purple, Johnny Cash didn’t stand a chance. The 80s were spent in full pursuit of everything Metal: searching for new music at record stores, listening to albums, studying the covers and sleeves, and attending concerts. In the 90s, he preferred Death Metal over Grunge and hosted the Death Metal Juggernaut on WUPX in Marquette, Michigan. It was advertised as the only prime time Death Metal radio show in the country.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.