SUNBOMB – Light Up The Sky

Sunbomb - Light Up The Sky album cover art
  • 7.7/10
    SUNBOMB - Light Up The Sky - 7.7/10


Label: Frontiers Music s.r.l.
Release date: June 28, 2024

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Folks that loved the first album by Tracii Guns and Michael Sweet on Sunbomb’s first LP Evil and Divine will love the new album Light Up The Sky on Frontiers Music s.r.l. The lineup is the same, with Guns’ bandmate Adam Hamilton on drums, as well as recording and mixing the album, and Mitch Davis on the bass. The music is written and produced by Tracii Guns, and almost feels like a love letter to the musical legends that founded Heavy Metal as we know it and love it today.

Light It Up

Sunbomb melds influences of classic Heavy Metal bands such as Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourne, Dio, and Judas Priest to fashion a familiar, and fun sound that grows on you with every listen. Michael Sweet on Light Up The Sky:

“I’m always humbled to be a part of a project like this. This album takes the Sunbomb vision to another level with killer songs and amazing energy. Tracii really delivered on the riffs and it made it very easy for me to come up with melodies that were fitting for each song. It’s different yet familiar at the same time in the best of ways. We’re very fortunate to be working with a label that still believes in the best music in the world – rock!”

Final Notes

Sunbomb – Light Up The Sky is a solid album, that does in fact pay homage to the great Heavy Metal bands and songs that helped shape the genre. A great example is “In Grace We’ll Find Our Name”, which feels like it could have easily come off of an early Black Sabbath album. “Reclaim The Light” might have been a Dio song, with its layered vocal harmonies in a haunting style. Overall, Sweet and Guns have a great second effort with Light Up The Sky, and well worth checking out. Two horns up!

Michael Sweet and Tracii Guns of Sunbomb.
Michael Sweet and Tracii Guns of Sunbomb.


  • Tracii Guns – Guitars ‎
  • Michael Sweet – Vocals ‎
  • Adam Hamilton – Drums ‎
  • Mitch Davis – Bass

Light Up The Sky – Tracklist

  1. Unbreakable
  2. Steel Hearts
  3. In Grace We’ll Find Our Name
  4. Light Up the Skies
  5. Rewind
  6. Scream Out Loud
  7. Winds of Fate
  8. Beyond the Odds
  9. Reclaim the Light
  10. Where We Belong
  11. Setting the Sail
  12. Where We Belong (acoustic version) bonus track Japan

Check out the new video for “Unbreakable” by Sunbomb off of their new album: Light Up The Sky


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.