LYNCH MOB – Babylon

Lynch Mob - Babylon album cover.
  • 6.5/10
    LYNCH MOB - Babylon - 6.5/10


Label: Orchards
Release date: October 20, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Back in 2020 when the nation was reeling over the murder of George Floyd by a police officer in Minneapolis, Minnesota, during an arrest made after a store clerk suspected Floyd may have used a counterfeit twenty-dollar bill, George Lynch reflected upon how inappropriate the name “Lynch Mob” was. The term was originated by an 18th century self-appointed Virginian judge who sentenced people to die without a proper trial, people meaning African Americans (who would be unceremoniously abducted and hung from a tree), George Lynch had a moment of conscience and decided it was time to do the right thing and drop the moniker. Lynch explained his reasoning in an interview with Metal Express Radio, but now for reasons that can only be guessed at, Lynch has dropped his convictions and returned to the old name once again.

Perhaps he felt he was losing “fans” of the name? This feels like an odd reason, as people who listen to his bands are there because of George Lynch, and he could have easily just called the band “George Lynch” and stood by what he claimed were important reasons for dropping the old band name. Fast forward to 2023, Lynch has a new band and a new album titled Lynch Mob – Babylon on Frontiers SLR records, and in a time when racial violence is growing, some fans are left scratching their heads at the turnaround.

About the Album

Babylon features a brand new band, with the only returning member besides George Lynch being drummer Jimmy D’anda. New front man Gabriel Colón (Culprit, Savage Grace) is joined by new bassist Jaron Gulino (Tantric, On Top) to complete the newest version of the Lynch Mob. the original Lynch Mob was formed in 1989 after George Lynch parted ways with his former band Dokken. Their debut release “Wicked Sensation” was met with critical and fan acclaim and went on to be certified gold in sales by the RIAA. The band would continue on through the years with a cast of talented players joining Lynch throughout their musical journey over the course of six more studio albums, with the only constant being of course, George Lynch. The new album Babylon features 10 new tracks that feel very much like a product of the 1980s, and lacks anything sounding fresh, or innovative. While the production and performances are solid, the overall product comes up short compared to earlier releases.

Final Notes

While George Lynch remains an extremely talented guitarist and musician, the new iteration of Lynch Mob does little to further that legacy. The new album Babylon does have a few decent tracks like “Erase”, “How You Fall” and the title track “Babylon”, but for this reviewer the overall collection of songs does little to inspire the listener. Fans of George Lynch will surely find a reason to give this a spin, though others may want a little more from a guitarist who once blazed a trail for Heavy Metal.

Lynch Mob band photo - 2023


  • Gabriel Colón – Vocals
  • George Lynch – Guitars
  • Jimmy D’anda – Drums
  • Jaron Gulino – Bass

Babylon – Tracklist

  1. Erase
  2. Time After Time
  3. Caught Up
  4. I’m Ready
  5. How You Fall
  6. Million Miles Away
  7. Let It Go
  8. Fire Master
  9. The Synner
  10. Babylon


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.