WILDNITE – Wildnite

WILDNITE - Wildnite
  • 7/10
    WILDNITE - Wildnite - 7/10


Live Management/Playground Music
Release date: April 13, 2018

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Despite the often cited young ages of Norway’s Wildnite listeners will find this self-titled debut on par with more experienced artists. Wildnite is an uncomplicated blend of Hard Rock and Sleaze Metal. Think Def Leppard crossed with Mötley Crüe. Their lyrics tread the well-worn path of 80s Metal: girls, booze, rock, and relationships. The raw production gives the music a gritty texture. Unfortunately, the vocals are often mixed too high blunting the effect.

The first three songs leave the listener with no doubt this band is serious about their desire to bring “…back the 80s with screaming vocals and ball breaking guitars!” While the style and lyrical themes ooze 80s pheromones, the melodic hooks aren’t sharp enough. True to the genre, the fourth song “I Remember You” is a power ballad. Sadly, the 6-minute ballad is far too long and accentuates the vocalist’s limitations on sustained notes. The next three songs pick up the tempo and produce some memorable riffs. “Rock On The Radio” is a stand out anthem showcasing punchy riffs, spirited vocals, and a sing along chorus punctuated with strong backing vocals. Later in the album, the band returns to this sweet spot with “Rock It” which is arguably their best song. The song has Sleaze Metal swagger complete with cowbell percussion and chugging riffs with more melodic hooks than Velcro. Wildnite delivers one more power ballad with “Days Of No Trust” and gets it right. The acoustic guitar is featured properly in the mix and backing vocals assist the vocalist creating a powerful, rich sound.

Wildnite is comparable to Def Leppard’s On Through The Night. Both capture a youthful energy and enthusiasm that is palpable. Both are inconsistent but have clear moments of greatness which make Wildnite a band to watch. Recommended for fans who like to say they heard it first.



  1. I’ll Be There
  2. Tears N’ Fire
  3. Rippin’ It Up
  4. I Remember You
  5. Dr. Pain
  6. Into Your Eyes
  7. Rock On The Radio
  8. Nitetime
  9. Back On The Bottle
  10. Rock It
  11. Days Of No Trust
  12. Back For More


Sigurd Østerbø Søbye (Jizz)
Michael Bjerkan (Magic Mick)
Marius Tangen (Nikki Starr)
Glenn Erik Sandbekkbråten (Eric Bloody Rotz)
Karl Fredrik Knutsmoen (Kailey D’ville)


  • Zac Halter

    Zac was a reviewer here at Metal Express Radio, hailing from Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA. His interest in heavy music began in the 70s with his father’s Johnny Cash albums. After cousins introduced him to Steppenwolf, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, KISS, Black Sabbath and Deep Purple, Johnny Cash didn’t stand a chance. The 80s were spent in full pursuit of everything Metal: searching for new music at record stores, listening to albums, studying the covers and sleeves, and attending concerts. In the 90s, he preferred Death Metal over Grunge and hosted the Death Metal Juggernaut on WUPX in Marquette, Michigan. It was advertised as the only prime time Death Metal radio show in the country.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.