U.D.O. – Touchdown

U.D.O. - Touchdown album cover art.
  • 8.4/10
    U.D.O. - Touchdown - 8.4/10


Label: Atomic Fire Records
Release date: August 25, 2023

User Review
8.83/10 (3 votes)

With one of the most recognizable voices in Heavy Metal history, Udo Dirkschneider has shaped iconic metal anthems since the 1980s with his distinctive sound and style. Dirkschneider is a veritable icon of the Heavy Metal world, having performed on stages for over five decades. Fortunately for music fans, his voice seems to only improve with age, and the new album by U.D.O. – Touchdown proves the point.

Heavy Metal Family

U.D.O. – Touchdown sees a return of ex-Accept bassist Peter Baltes to the musical family. On the change of lineup on the bass, Dirkschneider states:

“When Tilen suddenly had to cancel the shows of last summer for health reasons, we urgently needed a replacement for the current tour and the next festivals. By a huge coincidence, Peter offered to help us out for the few shows”. “It just felt so incredibly familiar and right to me,” Udo continues. “Somehow, what belongs together has come together again.”

On the production side, ex-Accept drummer Stefan Kaufmann (ROXX Studio) worked as a sound engineer in the development process, adding another old bandmate to the U.D.O. family.

Final Notes

With 13 ripping songs, Touchdown fully lives up to expectations. From the opening “Isolation Man”, to the classical music laden “Fight For The Right”, to the anthemic new classic “The Battle Understood”, Touchdown covers all of the bases. The songs are witty, well thought out, superbly performed Heavy Metal that takes the listener back to the 80s, while having a scorching modern mix. With Udo Dirkschneider’s seemingly magical voice that only appears to improve with age, this fan can’t wait for the next album, and gives Touchdown an emphatic 2 “horns” up!

U.D.O. band photo by Photo by Martin Häusler.
Photo: Martin Häusler.

U.D.O. Lineup

  • Udo Dirkschneider – vocals
  • Andrey Smirnov – guitars
  • Fabian “Dee” Dammers – guitars
  • Peter Baltes – bass
  • Sven Dirkschneider – drums

Touchdown – Tracklist

  1. Isolation Man
  2. The Flood
  3. The Double Dealer’s Club
  4. Fight For The Right
  5. Forever Free
  6. Punchline
  7. Sad Man’s Show
  8. The Betrayer
  9. Heroes Of Freedom
  10. Better Start To Run
  11. The Battle Understood
  12. Living Hell
  13. Touchdown


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.