FIREWIND – Still Raging – Live at the Principal Theater

Album cover art for FIREWIND - Still Raging - Live at the Principal Theater
  • 8/10
    FIREWIND - Still Raging - Live at the Principal Theater - 8/10


Label: AFM Records
Release date: September 1, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

The brainchild of phenomenal guitarist Gus G (Gus G, Kriterion, ex-Dream Evil, ex-Ozzy Osbourne), Firewind has been giving fans great Heavy Metal since 1998. After nine studio albums and a live album back in 2012, the band has released a new live concert on video/CD titled Still Raging – Live at the Principal Theater. Following up to 2020’s self-titled album which introduced new vocalist Herbie Langhans (Avantasia, Radiant, Seventh Avenue) to fans, this concert shows us how strong and powerful Firewind still are as they celebrate 20 years.

20th Anniversary Concert

Recorded in 2022 at the Principal Theater in Thessaloniki, Greece, Still Raging shows the band at the top of their game in front of an enthusiastic hometown crowd. Gus G talks about how the album came about:

“In 2022 we had only planned a re-issue of our debut album, but with the pandemic slowly winding down, we were fortunate enough to start doing shows in America and Europe again. Come Fall of 2022 we played 2 headline shows in our homeland, Greece to celebrate our 20th anniversary.”

Firewind - Still Raging product images.

Final Notes

Firewind – Still Raging will be available on Blu-Ray and as a 2 CD edition, so whether you just want the just the music, or the whole package, it’s a bargain either way. The band is super tight with Gus G at the helm, and the drumming by Jo Nunez is nothing short of incredible. With 19 songs and a drum solo, there’s plenty of great music to warm the hearts of not just Firewind fans, but anyone who digs kick ass Power Metal.

Firewind band photo 2023.
Photo: Tim Tronckoe.

Firewind Lineup

  • Gus G. – guitars
  • Herbie Langhans – vocals
  • Petros Christo – bass
  • Jo Nunez – drums

Still Raging – Live at the Principal Theater

  1. Welcome to the Empire
  2. I am the Anger
  3. Head Up High
  4. Devour
  5. Destination Forever
  6. Orbitual Sunrise
  7. World on Fire
  8. Drum solo
  9. The Fire & the Fury
  10. Ode to Leonidas
  11. Overdrive
  12. Mercenary Man
  13. Lady of 1000 sorrows
  14. Break away
  15. Between Heaven and Hell
  16. Rising Fire
  17. Maniac
  18. Hands of Time
  19. Few Against Many
  20. Falling To Pieces


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.