Cover art for Girlschool - WTFortyfive.
  • 7.6/10
    GIRLSCHOOL - WTFortyfive? - 7.6/10


Label: Silver Lining Music
Release date: July 28, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

45 years ago four hard rocking women from England formed a no-nonsense, in-your-face band that made an impact as a part of the NWOBHM, and has stood the test of time. 2023 sees Girlschool still very much alive and kicking, and asking the musical and philosophical question WTFortyfive? Founding guitarist/vocalist Kim McAuliffe and drummer Denise Dufort are still proudly carrying the Girlschool mantle, with the aid of guitarist Jackie Chambers and bassist Tracey Lamb.

About the Album

On WTFortyfive? the band proudly comments “The first new GIRLSCHOOL music in nearly a decade! Powerful, heavy and with a great groove, this (“Are You Ready?”) is the first single from our WTFortyfive? album! We think you’ll like it… Are you ready? We are!”

The track features a guest appearance by Joe Stump of Alcatrazz, who co-wrote “Are You Ready”. The album also has several guests, including Biff Byford of Saxon, Duff McKagan of Guns N’ Roses and Phil Campbell on the remake of Motörhead’s “Born To Raise Hell”.

Final Notes

Much like AC/DC, Girlschool has their own style and sound, and the band stays true to that sound here on WTFortyfive? The songs have the solid, heavy guitars that we’ve come to expect, along with the anthemic choruses that make you want to party hard, and shake your fist in the air. WTFortyfive? still conveys the raw energy that is the trademark of Girlschool, and if this album is any indication of the future, these ladies will be rocking us hard for many more years to come.

Group picture of the band Girlschool for 2023.
Photo: Adam Kennedy.

Girlschool – Lineup

  • Kim McAuliffe – guitar/vocals
  • Denise Dufort – drums
  • Jackie Chambers – guitar/backing vocals
  • Tracey Lamb – bass

WTFortyfive? – Track Listings

  1. It Is What It Is
  2. Cold Dark Heart
  3. Bump In The Night
  4. Barmy Army
  5. Invisible Killer
  6. Believing In You
  7. It’s A Mess
  8. Into The Night
  9. Are You Ready? (feat. Joe Stump)
  10. Up To No Good
  11. Party
  12. Born To Raise Hell (feat. Biff Byford, Phil Campbell, Duff McKagan)


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.