JAG PANZER – The Hallowed

Jag Panzer - The Hallowed - Album cover art.
  • 8.2/10
    JAG PANZER - The Hallowed - 8.2/10


Label: Atomic Fire Records
Release date: June 23, 2023

User Review
8.5/10 (1 vote)

Jag Panzer are back with the follow-up to their 2017 release The Deviant Chord, this their 11th full-length studio release titled The Hallowed. The conceptual storyline of the album was preceded with a comic book of the same title that the band themselves released in late 2022. Formed back in 1981, Jag Panzer are one of the early founders of what is now considered Traditional Heavy Metal, and one thing’s for sure; they haven’t lost a single step along the way!

From Comic Book To Album

Founding guitarist Mark Briody talks about how the new album came together:

The Hallowed is a concept album, so our approach was very different from the last few releases. With a concept album, we like to score the music to the story, which is a different songwriting style for us. We moved [drummer] Rikard Stjernquist into the role of a music director, so while I was working on the writing and the arrangements for new songs, he took tracks from all of the band members and mixed all the new song demos. We actually completed an entire version of the album in demo form before we hit the studio for the real thing.”

Final Notes

This is an excellent example of what Heavy Metal is supposed to sound like. From the screaming vocals, to the heavy riffs, to the pyrotechnic guitars, and the kick ass double bass drumming, Jag Panzer has it all. Jag Panzer – The Hallowed rolls it all up into one very well crafted album that delivers on every level. For folks looking to go back to where it all started, and have a glimpse of what still makes great Heavy Metal, do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of this album. You’ll be glad you did.

Jag Panzer Band Photo 2023

Jag Panzer – Lineup

  • Harry Conklin – vocals
  • Mark Briody – guitars
  • Ken Rodarte – guitars
  • John Tetley – bass
  • Rikard Stjernquist – drums

The Hallowed – Tracklistings

  1. Bound As One
  2. Prey
  3. Ties That Bind
  4. Stronger Than You Know
  5. Onward We Toil
  6. Edge Of A Knife
  7. Dark Descent
  8. Weather The Storm
  9. Renewed Flame
  10. Last Rites


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.