• 7.8/10
    LEGIONS OF THE NIGHT - Sorrow Is The Cure - 7.8/10


Label: Pride & Joy Music
Release date: August 20, 2021

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Classic Heavy Metal

With all of the new music that pours into the collective media it’s nice when a band comes along with something that sounds old, while still adding something new to the mix. Legions of the Night have done this with the release of their debut album on Pride & Joy Music titled Sorrow Is The Cure. The band was formed during the 2020 Covid pandemic by veteran musician Jens Faber (Dawn of Destiny, MalefistuM, ExoS), with drummer Philipp Bock and singer Henning Basse (Metalium, ex-Firewind, Mayan) completing the group.

In The Shadow of Giants

The band’s main influence comes from the early works of US Power Metal veterans Savatage as well as from their early 2000’s releases. Sorrow Is The Cure reflects this in everything from the musical moods to the blend of heavy metal with piano and epic themes. Top it off with the cover of the classic Savatage tune “Sirens” as an homage to their musical heroes and you have a really strong record. While the band may be new, the members are all seasoned metal veterans, including producer/engineer Dennis Köhne (Orden Ogan, Sodom, Lacuna Coil).

Final Notes

While not perfect, Sorrow Is The Cure is a very strong first effort, and a really good listen that gets better every play through. The snare drum mix on the opening track is a bit annoying as it overpowers the song, but by the second song things are better in the mix. The band’s performances are top-notch, the songs are interesting and fresh. The cover of “Sirens” is like icing on the cake, making this a definite must for fans of Jon Oliva, Savatage and Trans-Siberian Orchestra.

Legions of the night band photo


Jens Faber – guitars, keyboards, bass
Philipp Bock – drums
Henning Basse – vocals

Sorrow is the Cure – Tracklist

01. Train to Nowhere
02. Lie
03. Walls of Sorrow
04. Find the Truth
05. Someday Somewhere
06. We All Walk Alone
07. Shoot and Save
08. Sorrow is the Cure
09. Pay the Price
10. Rescue Me
11. Sirens


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.