DIO – Dio At Donington ’83 / ’87

DIO - Dio At Donington '83 art
  • 9.1/10
    DIO - Dio At Donnington - 9.1/10


Label: Niji Entertainment & BMG
Release date: September 23, 2022

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Classic Metal Rereleased

Some Heavy Metal is always worth coming back for more, and when it comes to Ronnie James Dio: sign me up! Niji Entertainment & BMG are rereleasing Dio’s live albums from the UK Donington Festival from both 1983 and 1987. The albums were originally released in 2010 as a limited edition digi-pack of both concerts. Now you can get the concerts separately on CD or a 2LP set on vinyl each, giving fans a new way to collect these iconic recordings.

Stand Up And Shout

For fans who aren’t familiar with these recordings, you’re in for a real treat on both concerts. Dio at Donington ’83 captures the band just 3 months after the release of their debut album, with so much fire and enthusiasm you can tell they love what they’re doing with a passion. The set features songs from the debut album, as well as classic Rainbow tunes including “Starstruck”, “Stargazer” and “Man On The Silver Mountain.” Of course, there are also the Black Sabbath tracks “Children of the Sea” and the epic “Heaven and Hell.”

DIO - Dio At Donington '87 art

Dio at Donington ’87 captures the band after their lineup change from guitarist Vivian Campbell (who left the band due to differences with Ronnie) to a young Craig Goldy. Included are the now classic tracks from 87’s Dream Evil “Dream Evil,” “Naked In The Rain” and “Rock ‘n’ Roll Children,” as well as Rainbow’s “Long Live Rock and Roll” and “Man On The Silver Mountain.” Additionally, the album includes material from Black Sabbath and previous 3 records.

Final Notes

When it comes to collecting anything from Ronnie James Dio: more is better! These rereleases give us the chance to get these great concerts on vinyl, or on CD. If you already have the original release on digi-pack, then pony up for the 2 LP Limited Edition version with 3D / Lenticular art print of the cover and an exclusive etching on Side D. If you don’t already own these concert recordings, then here’s your opportunity to round out your collection with what can only be considered required material for any Dio fan, young or old!

Lineup – Donington ’83

Ronnie James Dio – Vocals
Vivian Campbell – Guitar
Jimmy Bain – Bass
Vinny Appice – Drums
Claude Schnell – Keyboards


01. Stand Up and Shout
02. Straight Through The Heart
03. Children Of The Sea
04. Rainbow In The Dark
05. Holy Diver
06. Drum Solo
07. Stargazer
08. Guitar Solo
09. Heaven and Hell
10. Man On The Silver Mountain
11. Starstruck
12. Man On The Silver Mountain (Reprise)

Lineup – Donington ’87

Ronnie James Dio – Vocals
Craig Goldy – Guitar
Jimmy Bain – Bass
Vinny Appice – Drums
Claude Schnell – Keyboards


01. Dream Evil
02. Neon Knights
03. Naked In The Rain
04. Rock ‘n’ Roll Children
05. Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll
06. The Last In Line
07. Children Of The Sea
08. Holy Diver
09. Heaven and Hell
10. Man On The Silver Mountain
11. All The Fools Sailed Away
12. The Last In Line (Reprise)
13. Rainbow In The Dark


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.