OCEANHOARSE – Dead Reckoning

OCEANHOARSE - Dead Reckoning
  • 7.2/10
    OCEANHOARSE - Dead Reckoning - 7.2/10


Noble Demon Records
Release date: August 20, 2021

[spoiler title=’Metal Express Radio – Ratings Scale’ style=’default’ collapse_link=’true’]

10.0:         Cannot be improved! Perfect, instant classic! Essential in any record collection.
9.5 – 9.9:  Fantastic, spectacular and outstanding!
9.0 – 9.4:  Amazing release! It just lacks that little extra spice to make it perfect.
8.5 – 8.9:  Exceptional release! Will likely rank among top ten albums of the year.
8.0 – 8.4:  Great release! It has many different qualities.
7.5 – 7.9:  Above average! It is an enjoyable release.
7.0 – 7.4:  It is not brilliant, but has many strong points.
6.0 – 6.9:  It has its moments, but is not that strong.
5.0 – 5.9:  Slightly above average, does not stand out. Good outweighs bad by just a little.
4.0 – 4.9:  Just below average, bad outweighs good by just a little.
3.0 – 3.9:  Mediocre. There might be a song or a performance that is enjoyable, but that is it.
2.0 – 2.9:  Very weak! There might be a light at the end of the tunnel, too many flaws.
1.0 – 1.9:  This release gives the word “terrible” new meaning.
0.1 – 0.9:  Awful! Avoid at all cost. There is nothing good to say about this release.


User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

The Backstory

Oceanhoarse hails from Helsinki, Finland and are considered by some to be a part of the New Wave Of Finnish Heavy Metal. Although a new incarnation, members of the band previously played with or are still current members of Amoral, For The Imperium, Warmen, and Nightwish.

The Album

Oceanhoarse goes straight for the jugular on “Locks.” Intense vocals and riffs ensue, but there’s a measure of melody in the chorus. Pounding drum beats and driving guitars run roughshod over “Betrayed By Light.” Vocalist Marko Hietala flexes abilities here, by switching from clean to roaring inflections. “Reaching Skywards” is full of piss and vinegar, while “Fields of Severed Dreams” runs a gamut of emotions.

“The Intruder” has a bit of a Pantera squeal to its guitar work. It is sure to bring the masses into the pit. “Fight For Tomorrow” will insure blood and bruises in said pit as well. The long intro could go on forever and the track would never get boring. Eleven tracks in and Oceanhoarse shows not signs of slowing down on “<<Rew.” It seems a little strange that the album’s title track “Dead Reckoning” is a 55 second instrumental.

The Verdict

Oceanhoarse delivers the “Heavy fucking Metal” they promise on Dead Reckoning. The album is full of unrelenting energy and authoritative yet melodic vocals.


  1. Headfirst
  2. Locks
  3. Betrayed By Light
  4. One With The Gun
  5. Reaching Skywards
  6. Fields of Severed Dreams
  7. Submersed
  8. The Intruder
  9. Fight For Tomorrow
  10. From Hell to Oblivion
  11. REW
  12. Dead Reckoning
  13. The Damage
  14. Fading Neons

Oceanhoarse is

Marko Hietala – Vocals
Ben Varon – Guitar
Jyri Helko – Bass
Oskari Niemi – Drums



  • George Dionne

    George was a contributor here at Metal Express Radio, reviewing albums and conducting interviews, out of Massachusetts, USA. George has contributed to numerous music related websites and blogs, and even managed his own from 2004-2009. George's first assignment was covering a live show by the mighty GWAR. By contrast his later assignments featured Judas Priest, Van Halen, and Bon Jovi. George was also the front man for the South Eastern Massachusetts cover band Sound Tower from 2009-2015.  Sound Tower played 300+ shows across MA and had two original songs on the Cape Cod radio station PIXY 103. George enjoys a good whiskey, scotch, and/or bourbon and fights crime in his spare time.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.