SAEKO – Holy Are We Alone

SAEKO - Holy Are We Alone
  • 8.2/10
    SAEKO - Holy Are We Alone - 8.2/10


Label: Pride & Joy Music
Release date: August 20, 2021

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Saeko is Back

After only 2 albums in the early 2000s and a 17 year hiatus, the amazing Japanese artist Saeko Kitabae is back on Pride & Joy Records with a new album titled Holy Are We Alone. Returning on the drums is the amazing veteran Michael Ehré (Primal Fear, Gamma Ray), and while original member Lars Ratz (Metalium, R.I.P.) returns as a guest musician, Italian guitarist Guido Benedetti has joined Saeko and co-writes the album. Rounding out the lineup is Alessandro Sala (Rhapsody of Fire, Sinestesia) on the bass guitar, completing an already all-star group.

Multi-National Collaboration

Proving the power of crowd funding, Holy Are We Alone is a unique combination of several cultures in it’s creation, focus and theme. An epic with a concept story of a spirit reincarnating through different areas of the world to find his/her answer–a sequel to the 1st and 2nd albums. Sometimes quiet and reflective, sometimes powerful, intense and resonating, with lyrics in English, Japanese, German, even Hawaiian and Sanskrit, concluding with a citation from Plato. Not only does the album offer different cultural themes, but also a variety of musical styles like Pop and even Opera blending with Heavy Metal to create a very different sort of offering.

Final Notes

Holy Are We Alone has a lot going for it with so many musical influences and cultural elements, making for a rollercoaster ride of Heavy Metal joy. Just when you think that you have their sound figured out, they surprise you again on the next track. Overall, it’s a very strong release that like all good records grows on you with every listen. Saeko’s vocal abilities are amazing, reminding this reviewer of the incredible Diva Evgenia Laguna with her vocal prowess. If you think you’ve heard it all before, think again and give this a listen, you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

saeko band photo


Saeko Kitamae – vocals, keyboards
Guido Benedetti – guitars
Alessandro Sala – Bass
Michael Ehré – Drums

Holy Are We Alone – Tracklist

01. Circle Of Life
02. Japan : In My Dream
03. Syria: Music My Love
04. UK : Never Say Never
05. Germany : Rebellion Mission
06. India: Farewell To You I (From Father to Son)
07. Brazil : Splinters Of The Sun
08. Hawaii (USA) : Farewell To You II (From Mother to Daughter)
09. Russia : Heroes
10. Holy Are We Alone
11. Universe : A Verse To The Universe


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.