STEEL FOX – Red Snow

STEEL FOX - Red Snow
  • 7.6/10
    STEEL FOX - Red Snow - 7.6/10


Label: STF Records
Release date: May 7, 2021

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

High Energy Power Metal

Out this May from Brazil’s own Steel Fox: Red Snow, the bands 2nd full-length album on STF Records. Originally formed in 1997, the band still has founding members Daniel Camelo on guitars and Robson Alves (Oráculo, ex-Leprous) delivering his heavy metal, operatic style the vocals. Though the band has changed over the years, driving forces that shaped their sound have not. Philipe Praciano returns on the bass to be joined by Tiago Rezakk on guitars and Bosco Lacerda on the drums to round out this tight group.

Epic Themes on Adrenaline

Steel Fox have a no-nonsense approach to their music, delivering metal with a razor’s edge precision that hits hard and fast. Red Snow was produced, mixed and mastered by André Noronha, which shows in the consistency and slickness of the album. The guitar work is flashy, yet contained and tight with tasteful flourishes at all of the right moments. The drums are unrelenting and drive the album from start to finish at a frantic pace. Stand out tracks for this reviewer include “Hellish March” with its awesome 6/8 Metal swing, and “Clash of Worms” for its high speed riffing reminiscent of early Helloween.

Final Notes

Though Steel Fox has a short discography, their veteran playing and composing really shows on Red Snow. The band has a rawness, yet precision that harkens back to the early days of Power Metal. The album has a good variety of tempo and composition, and with most of the songs running at under 5 minutes it goes by at a good clip. A strong second effort from a great group of musicians, Red Snow feels like a drink of vintage Power Metal in a new stein. Fans of the genre should check it out, as there are some real gems here from South America’s metal scene worth discovering.

Steel Fox band photo


Daniel Camelo – Guitars
Robson Alves – Vocals
Philipe Praciano – Bass
Tiago Rezakk – Guitars
Bosco Lacerda – Drums

Red Snow – Tracklist

01. Dreams of the Innocent
02. Blades of Revenge
03. Requiem for a Murderer
04. Hellish March
05. Red Snow
06. Raging Tides
07. The Man Without King
08. City of Hell
09. The Clash of Worms
10. Night People’s Curse


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.