MAGNUS KARLSSON (MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREE FALL): “I Have To Admit It Wasn’t Easy This Time To Sing After Guys Like DINO [JELUSICK] And REN [ZONTA]”

Magnus Karlsson
Photo: Svegland

Magnus Karlsson’s Free Fall released their third album We Are The Night on June 13, 2020 [read review]. As our own Stevie Shred said, “We Are The Night is a serious contender for the best of 2020.” The new album features guest contributions from Noora Louhimo (Battle Beast), Dino Jelusick (Dirty Shirley), Ronnie Romero (Rainbow), Tony Martin (ex-Black Sabbath), Mike Andersson (Cloudscape), and the newest vocal star on the Frontiers’ label Renan Zonta (Electric Mob).

Magnus is man that wears many guitar straps. Not only does he write his own material, but he has also written albums for Starbreaker (feat. Tony Harnell), Russell Allen & Jorn Lande, Michael Kiske & Amanda Somerville, The Ferrymen, and more. In 2008 Karlsson joined Primal Fear and has revitalized their songwriting and performing as well. Incidentally, Primal Fear has a new album set to be released later this summer entitled Metal Commando.

Magnus took time out from his busy schedule to talk to Metal Express Radio about We Are The Night, as well as all the other musical fires he has burning.


  • George Dionne

    George was a contributor here at Metal Express Radio, reviewing albums and conducting interviews, out of Massachusetts, USA. George has contributed to numerous music related websites and blogs, and even managed his own from 2004-2009. George's first assignment was covering a live show by the mighty GWAR. By contrast his later assignments featured Judas Priest, Van Halen, and Bon Jovi. George was also the front man for the South Eastern Massachusetts cover band Sound Tower from 2009-2015.  Sound Tower played 300+ shows across MA and had two original songs on the Cape Cod radio station PIXY 103. George enjoys a good whiskey, scotch, and/or bourbon and fights crime in his spare time.

    View all posts

1 Comment

  1. Magnus also sings three tracks on the album himself and Daniel Flores (who also worked with Magnus in the project The Codex) recorded the drums. Magnus Karlsson – Guitar, Bass Guitar, Keyboards Producer, Backing vocals, Lead vocals on tracks 3, 8, 12 13

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.