HELION PRIME – Terror Of The Cybernetic Space Monster

HELION PRIME - Terror Of The Cybernetic Space Monster
  • 7/10
    HELION PRIME - Terror Of The Cybernetic Space Monster - 7/10


AFM Records
Release date: August 31, 2018

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

The 2nd album from California Power Metallers, Helion Prime, continues their thematic blend of science fiction and fact, and the battle between good and evil.

After a requisite instrumental intro, “A King Is Born” emerges with riffs blending Heavy Metal aggression and Power Metal grandiosity adding rich vocals on par with Threshold or Dream Theater. While a listener might be able to leisurely nod along in head banging appreciation for this stellar tune, the next three songs require more athleticism. “Bury The Sun” blasts off quickly and never diminishes thrust. The song burns so bright with such variety, repeated listens are necessary to catch it all. “Atlas Obscura” maintains the high speed onslaught but manages to occasionally let the listener up for air by reducing the layers of complexity. “Urth” seeks to be memorable by repeating a majestic chorus sung with backup and complementary guitar solos. “The Human Condition” is the first song to venture into mid-tempo territory. The solo and backing vocals and creative riffs make it a memorable experience. Out of nowhere, “Spectrum” and “Silent Skies” downshift into power ballad territory. The former is forgettable fluff. The latter shifts back to speed and aggression with too little variation to be interesting. The closing title track clocks in at over seventeen minutes. Scary, right? Way too much time. Refreshingly, the band successfully avoids the trappings of self-indulgence and delivers an epic finale by bringing in numerous vocalists to surprise the listener and leaving space for slow and mid-tempo elements largely absent from earlier tracks.

While Terror Of The Cybernetic Space Monster doesn’t reach the crazed pace of DragonForce offerings, Helion Prime seems to share the same need for speed. It is recommended for fans of Power Metal who appreciate high speed fretwork and powerful vocals.


TRACKLIST (Highlights: 2, 3, 6, 9)

  1. Failed Hypothesis
  2. A King Is Born
  3. Bury The Sun
  4. Atlas Obscura
  5. Urth
  6. The Human Condition
  7. Spectrum
  8. Silent Skies
  9. Terror Of The Cybernetic Space Monster


Sozos Michael (vocals)
Jason Ashcraft (rhythm guitar)
Chad Anderson (lead guitar)
Jeremy Steinhouse (bass guitar)
Alex Bosson (drums)


  • Zac Halter

    Zac was a reviewer here at Metal Express Radio, hailing from Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA. His interest in heavy music began in the 70s with his father’s Johnny Cash albums. After cousins introduced him to Steppenwolf, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, KISS, Black Sabbath and Deep Purple, Johnny Cash didn’t stand a chance. The 80s were spent in full pursuit of everything Metal: searching for new music at record stores, listening to albums, studying the covers and sleeves, and attending concerts. In the 90s, he preferred Death Metal over Grunge and hosted the Death Metal Juggernaut on WUPX in Marquette, Michigan. It was advertised as the only prime time Death Metal radio show in the country.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.