FATE – Cruisin’ For A Bruisin’ (Reissue)

FATE - Cruisin' For A Bruisin' (Reissue)
  • 7/10
    FATE - Cruisin' For A Bruisin' (Reissue) - 7/10


MTM Classix
Release date: April 20, 2007

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

The ever-increasing powerhouse label, MTM Classix, continues to pound out the re-releases of cult favorites, the current one being a digitally remastered reissue of Fate’s Cruisin’ For A Bruisin’ release. It’s with great fortitude that MTM Classix has chosen to do this, as the original CD release has been out of print more than fifteen years.

The Copenhagen-based Danish Ultra-Melodic Rock band, Fate, began in 1984, when former Mercyful Fate (coincidental name similarity?) guitarist Hank Sherman, former Maxim singer Jeff Limbo, with his chiseled ladies’ man looks, bass/keyboard player Pete Steiner, and drummer Bob Lance met and formed the band. The foursome put out two decent albums before unleashing their third album in 1988 entitled Cruisin’ For A Bruisin’.

With Fate’s third release came some unexpected changes … from a fan’s perspective. Gone was founding guitarist Hank Sherman, who was perhaps responsible for a lot of the band’s attention. Sherman was replaced by the ridiculously-named guitarist: “The Mysterious Mr. Moth” (a.k.a. Jacob Moth). This, in an odd sort of way, perhaps inadvertently set the tone and tempo for this release. The production seemed rawer sounding yet thinner with songs that were less mature and less memorable than the band’s debut. The band also added a full-time keyboardist, relieving Steiner of those duties.

The release starts in an inauspicious sort of way with the slightly askew opening track entitled “Beneath Da’ Coconuts,” with it’s tongue-in-cheek chorus. Fortunately, once this track is spun a few times, it actually grows on you. For whatever reason, the band also included a new version of “Love On The Rox” from the band’s self-titled debut. Unfortunately, it’s not as full or powerful as the original version. The band did garner some attention with the track “Lovers,” which resulted in a single and video in 1988.

“Dead Boy, Cold Meat” is an up-tempo track even though it does have an offbeat, almost David Lee Roth-like chorus, and struts along with a very Van Halen-esque feel overall. “Lock Up” is another strong, catchy track, but it seems to reek a lot like prime Killer Dwarfs’ material, even down to the vocals.

Bottom line, this wasn’t the best of the three offerings from the (almost) original Fate line-up, who back in the 80’s was a completely different-sounding band compared to the modern day, ballsier Fate equivalent. Cruisin’ For A Bruisin’ was a decent release and this reissue is a worthy addition to any 80’s Hard Rock/Hair Metal enthusiast’s collection. Comparatively, when 1988 rolled around, a lot of American, L.A.-based Hair Bands were doing the same thing that Fate was doing, only doing it slightly better and with more memorable material than what was offered on Cruisin’ For A Bruisin’.


Bob Lance – Drums
Jeff Limbo – Vocals
The Mysterious Mr. Moth – Guitars
Pete Steiner – Bass
Flemming Rothaus – Keyboards


  • Scott Jeslis

    Scott is one of the partners at Metal Express Radio. He handles a lot of Metal Express Radio's public relations, screening of new music and radio scheduling. On occasion, he also does reviews and interviews. He has been a proud member of the Metal Express Radio crew since 2004.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.