at Blæst, Trondheim, Norway, December 1, 2006

After some trouble with booking a venue, it was finally time for Triosphere’s release party in their hometown: Trondheim! Triosphere has just released an amazing album entitled Onwards that has received great reviews from various Metal Web sites.

Approximately 200 headbangers had found their way to this small venue. Blæst is a small, but very intimate stage, and though many bands seem to suffer from bad sound at venues like this, the sound for this concert was excellent!

The band was founded in 2004 as a three-piece, and made their live debut very early, supporting Tony Martin (ex-Black Sabbath), Paul Di’Anno (ex-Iron Maiden), and TNT. After helping out the band on a couple of live performances, Tor Ole Byberg was recruited as second guitarist and became the fourth member of Triosphere. Prior to the release of Onwards, they supported W.A.S.P. on their four shows in Norway. Triosphere is a Heavy Metal band that combines melodic, energetic, and progressive elements into their music. What else is incredible about the music is lead singer and bassist Ida Haukland’s aggressive and raw female voice.

The band started off with “Onwards Part II (Decadent One),” and the crowd (consisting of Metal lovers from Trondheim as well as from the rest of Norway) seemed to like what they heard. Next was “Trinity,” which is probably their best song, and they chose to end the show with heavy and speedy song “Sunriser.” They played all the songs from the Onwards record along with two cover songs.

Haukland is capturing and sings just as good live as she did on the record. Not only does she sing like a goddess, but she is an excellent bass player too (she even does some excessive taping while singing). When the band covered “Wild Child” by W.A.S.P., she showed her ability to sing just as raw and energetic as Blackie Lawless himself. She is stunning on stage and lights a fire in every single member of the crowd.

Byberg really completes Triosphere, and he gives the band the necessary depth and massiveness musically. He nails the riffs perfectly and allows Marcus Silver to do his incredible things on the lead guitar. Silver was all over the place, playing cool riffs and amazing guitar solos. It’s so cool to see him vary his guitar solos to the point where they are both technical and innovative, and yet they are not so progressive and difficult that the crowd loses interest. By all indications, that guy never missed a note!

Ørjan Aare Jørgensen on drums never ceases to amaze. His technique is terrific and the guy has to be more steady than a metronome! Also, it’s cool to listen to his chimeric footwork during the double bass drum parts! Where these guys have been hiding is a mystery, but now it’s their turn to shine!

The highlights of the evening were “Onwards Part II (Decadent One),” “Trinity,” and “The Silver Lining.” Triosphere is amazing live! If you liked the album (What? You should worship it!), you are going to love them on stage! An incredible performance from the band combined with the almost perfect sound at the venue during the concert made this a memorable evening. If you have the opportunity to see them live, you should! Remember; the one who hesitates, masturbates!

Set List

  1. Onwards Part I (All Is Fair In Love And War?…)
  2. Onwards Part II (Decadent One)
  3. Trinity
  4. Lament
  5. Spitfire
  6. Onwards Part III (A Sole Twin’s Search In Solitude)
  7. Wild Side (Mötley Crüe cover)
  8. The Silver Lining
  9. Gunnin’ For Glory
  10. Twilight
  11. Wild Child (W.A.S.P. cover)
  12. Sunriser


  • Kristian Singh-Nergård

    Kristian is one of the partners at Metal Express Radio. He is Metal Express Radio's Marketing and Communications Manager, and on occasions also reviewer and photographer. Based out of Oslo, Norway, Kristian is a bass player and owner of the independent record label Pug-Nose Records. He has been a proud member of the Metal Express Radio crew since 2006.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.