NIGHTMARE – Encrypted

Nightmare - Encrypted album cover art.
  • 7.9/10
    NIGHTMARE - Encrypted - 7.9/10


Label: AFM Records
Release date: June 7, 2024

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

French Heavy Metal legends are back with the follow up to 2020’s smash album Aeternam, and once again the band has replaced their lead vocalist, with Madie out and Barbara Mogore (Songbird, ex-Muddles) in. While reason for the change is unclear (and basically a footnote), Barbara Mogore is more than capable of filling the role. With the release of Encrypted, Nightmare continue their legacy of producing top notch Heavy Metal.

What The Band Has To Say

“With the arrival of Barbara transcending Nightmare in new dimensions, we have decided to move to new heights in terms of musical approach to make Encrypted our most ambitious album to date in terms of production, musical direction and achievement… You can find here some traditional power metal riffing in the trademark of Nightmare but also extreme metal parts and some highlights even reaching Melodic Death Metal… making Encrypted our most varied opus so far, beyond all boundaries and expectations…”

Final Notes

There’s nothing bad to say, as Nightmare are a great band that continues to put out very good albums. That said, Encrypted doesn’t quite reach the highs of the previous release Aeternam. Barbara Mogore is very good, and a different flavor from previous singer Madie, but one starts to wonder when the revolving door of vocalists will end with each of the last three albums having a different singer. Hopefully Mogore can stay with the band and continue to help refine the already powerful, well crafted sound of France’s premiere Heavy Metal act. Two horns up for Encrypted and an album worth checking out.

Nightmare band photo in 2024 by Jonathan Lhote.
Photo: Jonathan Lhote.


  • Barbara Mogore – Vocals
  • Yves Campion – Bass & Vocals
  • Franck Milleliri – Guitar
  • Matt Asselberghs – Guitar & Vocals
  • Niels Quiais – Drums

Encrypted – Tracklist

  1. Nexus Inferis
  2. The Blossom of my Hate
  3. Voices from the Other Side
  4.  Saviours of the Damned
  5. Wake the Night
  6. Encrypted
  7. Incandescent
  8. White Lines
  9. Borderlines
  10. Eternal Winter (2023 Version)

Check out the new video for “Saviours of the Damned” by Nightmare off of their new album, Encrypted:


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.