REVOLUTION SAINTS - Against The Winds album cover art.
  • 7.5/10
    REVOLUTION SAINTS - Against The Winds - 7.5/10


Label: Frontiers Music s.r.l.
Release date: February 9, 2024

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Drummer Deen Castronovo first burst upon the Heavy Metal scene in the Pacific Northwest band The Wild Dogs on Mike Varney’s US Metal label. Since then Deen’s career has included playing in Dr. Mastermind, Tony McAlpine, Bad English, Hardline, Ozzy Osbourne, plus many others, including of course his current gig in Journey (he’s has the most years of any drummer in the band).

Revolution Saints was initially conceived by Serafino Perugino, the President and head of A&R at Frontiers Records, to showcase the remarkable vocal talents of Deen Castronovo. Against The Winds is the 4th album, and includes the new lineup of Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake, Trans-Siberian Orchestra, and Iconic) on guitars, and Jeff Pilson (ex-Dokken, Foreigner, Black Swan, and The End Machine) on bass with writer/producer Alessandro Del Vecchio on keyboards and backing vocals.


The first three albums featured Jack Blades (Night Ranger, Damn Yankees and Shaw Blades) and Doug Aldrich (ex-Whitesnake, DIO, The Dead Daisies), but the new album starts fresh with Joel Hoekstra and Jeff Pilson perfectly filling the big shoes of the first members. Against the Winds is once again produced and composed by the very adept Alessandro Del Vecchio, who really knows how to craft the perfect music for Deen Castronovo and company.

Final Notes

Revolution Saints – Against The Wind is a very strong follow up album, with huge melodies being at the forefront, while the technical skills and abilities of the band shine through. Deen’s voice is amazing, and it’s clear why he’s been able to perform the many parts Steve Perry created in Journey. Joel Hoekstra’s guitar work is as always brilliant, as Jeff Pilson’s bass work is a prefect fit. Revolution Saints Mk II perfectly takes up where the band left off. With 11 tracks at just over 48 minutes, Against The Winds delivers great Melodic Metal that fans of the genre will surely eat up. If you love of Journey, Def Leppard Foreigner, you will find something great here, so it’s an obvious add to your music collection.

Revolution Saints band photo 2024


  • Deen Castronovo – Vocals & drums
  • Jeff Pilson – bass
  • Joel Hoekstra – guitars
  • Alessandro Del Vecchio – keyboards

Against The Winds – Tracklist

  1. Against the Winds
  2. Changing My Mind
  3. Fall on My Knees
  4. Can’t End It Right Now
  5. Lost in Damnation
  6. Will I See You Again
  7. Show Me Your Light
  8. Save All That Remains
  9. Been Said and Done
  10. Diving Wings
  11. No Turning Back


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.