LIONHEART – The Grace Of A Dragonfly

LIONHEART - The Grace Of A Dragonfly album cover.
  • 8.2/10
    LIONHEART - The Grace Of A Dragonfly - 8.2/10


Label: Metalville
Release date: February 23, 2024

User Review
7/10 (1 vote)

Back in 1980, when the NWOBHM movement was just kicking off, ex-Iron Maiden guitarist Dennis Stratton joined guitarist/keyboardist Steve Mann, bass player Rocky Newton, ex-Tygers of Pan Tang singer Jess Cox and ex-Def Leppard drummer Frank Noon to form Lionheart. Fast forward to 2024, and the core of Lionheart remains the same, with Lee Small (The Sweet, ex-Shy) stepping in on lead vocals, and drummer Clive Edwards (ex-Pat Travers, Uli Jon Roth & Wild Horses) returning to complete the lineup. Since their rebirth in 2016, Lionheart has thrilled Melodic Metal fans with their big melodies, slick guitar work, and top notch production values.

Anti-War Concept Album

The third album since the band reunited, The Grace of a Dragonfly touches on the loss and heartbreak of World War 2, and the heavy toll it took on ordinary people around the globe. The lyrics not only reflect on the pain and grief inflicted by war on ordinary, innocent people in every conflict zone, but also their strength, resilience, and determination. The band very much wanted to make this an anti-war album, while at the same time remembering those who fought for our freedom.

Final Notes

The Grace of a Dragonfly shows how Lionheart continues to improve with every album, and on this record the production is stellar. Steve Mann (McAuley Schenker Group, MSG) has out done himself on producing this album with mixes that are spot on, near angelic vocal harmonies, and an overall superb mix. In short, Lionheart – The Grace of a Dragonfly is the pinnacle for the band, and has the big melodies, sweet duel guitars of Stratton and Mann, and the impeccable foundation of Newton and Edwards. Overall, this album is more than worth a spin, and Melodic Metal fans need to add it to their list.

Lionheart band photo 2024


  • Lee Small – lead vocals
  • Dennis Stratton – lead guitar/backing vocals
  • Steve Mann – lead guitar/backing vocals
  • Rocky Newton – bass guitar/backing vocals
  • Clive Edwards – drums, percussion

The Grace of a Dragonfly – Tracklist

  1. Declaration
  2. Flight 19
  3. V Is For Victory
  4. This Is A Woman’s War
  5. The Longest Night
  6. The Eagle’s Nest
  7. Little Ships
  8. Just A Man
  9. Uxb
  10. The Grace Of A Dragonfly
  11. Remembrance, Praying For World Peace


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.