• 8.2/10
    THOMAS CARLSEN'S TRANSMISSION - A Brave Horizon - 8.2/10


Label: RFL Entertainment
Release date: July 14, 2023

User Review
4/10 (2 votes)

A Brave Horizon is the first full-length album by Thomas Carlsen’s Transmission, a solo project by the Norwegian multi-instrumentalist and songwriter himself. He released his debut EP titled Redemption in 2022. The new songs are a continuation of the EP and everything he’s worked towards since then. Carlsen’s sound is rooted in ‘80s Hard Rock and Heavy Metal. Think Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, and Dokken. A Brave Horizon was written and recorded in Carlsen’s home studio. It’s also worth noting that Carlsen played all of the instruments on the album.

Growing as an Artist

There are few standout tracks on the album, one of them being, “The Fire Within,” which is the album’s first single. It’s very in-your-face and fist-pumping. But at the same time, there’s a lot of melody going on. “Flight of the Wolves” starts off with the sound of a wolf howling before kicking into full beast mode with monstrous drumming and a crushing guitar riff. Five different vocalists took part in the recording sessions for A Brave Horizon and Arnaud Ménard, who sings “Flight of the Wolves,” screams like Rob Halford, which is not a bad thing.

“Keys to Reality” is a mid-tempo headbanger with a juicy bass line, pounding drums, and ferocious guitar work. Out of all the tracks on A Brave Horizon, “Keys to Reality” is the one that sounds the most like a Classic Rock radio staple. “Climbing the Heights” is a fast-paced, anthemic rocker that would sound amazing in front of a live audience. “The Distant Chimes” is a progressive epic that closes the album; it’s 10 minutes and 30 seconds long.

A Brave Horizon is a great sounding album with modern production. Everything sounds well-balanced; the guitars don’t overshadow the bass lines and vice versa. The songs are well-written and Carlsen’s playing on the album is incredible.

Final Assessment

Overall, A Brave Horizon is an enjoyable release from Thomas Carlsen’s Transmission. There are the melodic pieces, the straightforward headbangers, and the experimental tracks. Because of the different flavors, the album isn’t predictable, which is greatly appreciated.

Album Tracklist

  1. A Brave Horizon
  2. The Fire Within
  3. Flight of the Wolves
  4. Keys to Reality
  5. Transcending Time
  6. Force Majeure
  7. Crownless
  8. Vermilion Skies
  9. Climbing the Heights
  10. The Distant Chimes

Guest Vocalists

Atli Guðlaugsson – “The Fire Within” and “The Distant Chimes”
Arnaud Ménard – “Flight of the Wolves”
Alain Concepcion – “Keys to Reality” and “Vermilion Skies”
Marius Danielsen – “Transcending Time”
Sebastian Palma – “Crownless” and “Climbing the Heights”


  • Lana Teramae

    Lana is a reviewer at Metal Express Radio from Honolulu, Hawaii. She's always had a passion for music, but she didn't get into Hard Rock and Heavy Metal music until she discovered Rick Allen's story in the summer of 2019. She was inspired by his determination to play drums for Def Leppard again after losing his left arm in a car accident. From there, her tastes expanded to other bands such as AC/DC, Bon Jovi, Metallica, Judas Priest, Saxon, Cinderella, and Overkill. Aside from listening to music, she loves watching YouTube and writing on her personal blog.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.