Mystic Prophecy - Hellriot album cover artwork
  • 8/10
    MYSTIC PROPHECY - Hellriot - 8/10


Label: Rock Of Angels Records
Release date: May 19, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Heavy duty German icons Mystic Prophecy have come out with studio album number 12: Hellriot. The band is a household name for German Heavy Metal, and this new release furthers that standing with its wall of guitars, killer drumming and anthemic vocals. Speaking of vocals, Roberto Dimitri Liapakis delivers a powerful performance on every track. Add to that the twin guitar attack of Markus Pohl and Evan K with their blistering solos and harmonies, the solid bass work of Joey Roxx, and the monstrous drumming of Hanno Kerstan, and you have a recipe for great Heavy Metal.

Welcome To Hell

Mystic ProphecyHellriot was released on May 19th via ROAR (Rock Of Angels Records), giving us 11 brand new songs from a band that keeps delivering in your face, head banging happiness to over a hundred thousand fans worldwide. The follow-up to 2020’s highly successful Metal Division, Hellriot reminds this listener instantly of Painkiller era Judas Priest as the title cut ensues. The production on the album is top notch, making it an easy listen, and a great experience on your car stereo.

Final Notes

Mystic Prophecy continue to put out very good Heavy Metal, year after year, and with 23 years running, that’s a true feat. Hellriot shows that they still have a lot left in the fuel tank, keeping their fans happy consistently, while adding new fans with every great record. Fans of Judas Priest, Jeff Scott Soto, and everything Heavy Metal will all find something here to band your heads to.

Mystic Prophecy - Band photo 2023

Mystic Prophecy Lineup

  • R.D. Liapakis – Vocals
  • Markus Pohl – Guitar
  • Evan K – Guitar
  • Joey Roxx – Bass
  • Hanno Kerstan – Drums

Hellriot – Tracklist

  1. Hellriot
  2. Unholy Hell
  3. Demons Of The Night
  4. Metal Attack
  5. Paranoia
  6. Revenge And Fire
  7. Rising With The Storm
  8. Road To Babylon
  9. Azrael
  10. Cross The Line
  11. World On Fire


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.