RUSTY BONEZ – Brainworm

Rusty Bonez - Brainworm album cover art.
  • 6.8/10
    RUSTY BONEZ - Brainworm - 6.8/10


Label: Vinylstore
Release date: May 12, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Athens, Greece based Groove Metal quartet Rusty Bonez are releasing their sophomore album this month titled Brainworm, with a sound reminiscent of some Grunge era bands from the 90s. As a follow up to 2017’s Wrath, the band offers some catchy riffs and sounds that seem instantly familiar. Vocalist Nondas Emmanoui’s voice has an almost eerie similarity to the late Chris Cornell (Soundgarden, Temple of the Dog, Audioslave), which compliments the bands Grunge/Metal style.

Welcome Back To The 90s

Rusty Bonez – Brainworm has some songs with straight ahead Rock beats, while while other tracks have odd time signatures more common in Prog Rock and Metal. The guitars have a good sound, and like Grunge seem almost devoid of guitar solos. The songs are interesting, and easy to listen to for the most part. The album was recorded at Devasoundz Studios, produced by Fotis Benardo and mastered by George Nerantzis (Abbath, Dark Funeral, Pain of Salvation, Gus G).

Final Notes

The bottom line on this record is that that it feels like it’s all been done before, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing if everything is done well. One can’t help but think it’s Chris Cornell one you make the connection between the two singers, and notice the same phrasing, and vocal idiosyncrasies. One thing that can be annoying on the record is the strange sound of the hi-hat cymbals on many of the tracks (like the opening cut), which sound over processed to the point of sounding fake, and over-dithered. This can be a deal breaker for some listeners as it makes the overall sound suffer. This is strange considering that the rest of the production is very solid. That said, Rusty Bonez – Brainworm does have some catchy tunes, which Grunge and Groove Metal fans might enjoy.

Rusty Bonez band photo - 2023

 Rusty Bonez Lineup

  • Nondas Emmanouil – vocals
  • Harris Kanellopoulos – guitar
  • Jojos Silivridis – bass
  • Alex Kollias – drums

Brainworm – Tracklist

  1. Nowhere
  2. Drive
  3. If
  4. Rain
  5. Do You Remember?
  6. Pile of Stones
  7. Miles Away
  8. Brainworm
  9. Hold your Breath
  10. Someday
  11. Shadows of Faith


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.