WEAPON – New Clear Power

WEAPON - New Clear Power cover art
  • 5.5/10
    WEAPON - New Clear Power - 5.5/10


Label: Pride & Joy Music
Release date: May 19, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

In 1980, vocalist Danny Hynes formed the New Wave of British Heavy Metal band Weapon. After six months of formation, the band was signed to Virgin Music and went on tour as Motörhead’s opening act. However, due to poor management, Weapon split after two years together. In 2005, the original band briefly reunited to perform at the Headbangers Open Air Festival in Germany. It wasn’t until 2010, though, when Hynes and longtime guitarist Jeff Summers brought back Weapon on a permanent basis.

The band then released three critically acclaimed albums and toured Europe nonstop before disaster struck, yet again. When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, Summers quit the band.

Not willing to give up just yet, Hynes reformed Weapon in 2021 with a new lineup and along with his good friend Robert Majd, began writing new material for the band’s next studio release. Hyne’s vision for the album, New Clear Power, was to embrace that New Wave of British Heavy Metal sound Weapon became known for. It features longtime bassist Tony Forsythe and guest appearances from Steve Mann (Michael Schenker Group / Lionheart), Tino Troy (Praying Mantis), Oscar Bromvall (Palace), Magnus Ulfstedt (Ginevra), Marcus Johansson (Deathstars), and Mano Lewys.

The Good and the Bad

New Clear Power starts off on a high note with “Drumbeats of War,” which has a piercing guitar riff, intense drumming, and a good chorus. The next track, “Take It or Leave It” follows the same formula and so does “Electric Power.” Most of the songs on the album are headbanging rockers. There’s only one ballad, “Live for Today,” which is probably the best song on the album, to be honest. Besides the inspirational lyrics, it has a beautiful keyboard melody, great backing vocals, and an emotive guitar solo.

The album should be a Heavy Metal fan’s dream with only one ballad and the rest are fast-paced, intense rockers. That’s partially the problem, though. The songs follow the same formula and none of the headbangers stand out from one another. Like AC/DC always got accused of writing the same song over and over again, Weapon actually wrote the song over and over again. Besides the songs sounding almost exactly the same, Hynes’ singing voice is very plain. There’s no melody nor edge to his sound, which explains why the songs on New Clear Power have very little life to them.

Everyone hears things differently, however. So, it’s all based on the listener’s preference.

Final Assessment

In conclusion, the musicians on the album are very talented, but Hynes’ vocals and the lackluster songs make New Clear Power a challenging listening experience. The album is not terrible, but it’s not amazing either. It comes out on May 19, 2023.

Album Tracklist

  1. Drumbeats of War
  2. Take It or Leave It
  3. Electric Power
  4. In for the Kill
  5. Live for Today
  6. Remote Control
  7. Hard Road
  8. Diamond Lil’
  9. Shoot You Down
  10. Riding with the Angels


  • Lana Teramae

    Lana is a reviewer at Metal Express Radio from Honolulu, Hawaii. She's always had a passion for music, but she didn't get into Hard Rock and Heavy Metal music until she discovered Rick Allen's story in the summer of 2019. She was inspired by his determination to play drums for Def Leppard again after losing his left arm in a car accident. From there, her tastes expanded to other bands such as AC/DC, Bon Jovi, Metallica, Judas Priest, Saxon, Cinderella, and Overkill. Aside from listening to music, she loves watching YouTube and writing on her personal blog.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.