SUNROAD – Sunesthesia

Sunroad - Sunesthesia cover art
  • 7.9/10
    SUNROAD - Sunesthesia - 7.9/10


Label: Deko Entertainment
Release date: March 10, 2023

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Brazilian Heavy Metal veterans Sunroad are bringing the thunder from down under on their newest release from Deko Entertainment: Sunesthesia. Their 9th studio effort since their inception in 1999, and a very solid release on all counts, with guest appearances by vocalist Ronnie Romero (Rainbow, MSG), keyboardist Michael T Ross (Lita Ford, Raiding Rock Vault, Hardline), and guitarist and former band mate Rafael Milhomem (BaRok).

About the Album

Too often great bands from South America like Sunroad and the great Rata Blanca get overlooked, and wrongly so as they have so much to offer the Metal/Hard Rock fans worldwide. Sunesthesia is a great example of the excellent music from Brazil that’s worth checking out, with 12 tracks of great music that starts off with “Speed Warning #1”, which has Ronnie Romero in a duet with returning singer Steph Honde. The album also has a cover of David Coverdale’s “Only My Soul” that nails the feel and emotion of the original, while adding their own touches, and leaving the listener waxing nostalgic.

Final Notes

Sunroad – Sunesthesia is a really good album, and keeps the listener coming back for more. Fans of Deep Purple, Whitesnake, and Rata Blanca will love this record, as well as fans of straight ahead Hard Rock who’ll be glad they gave this a chance. It’s a record you can play over and over, and every time you do it becomes more enduring. The bottom line is, it’s very good band, and a very good album that deserves a listen.

Sunroad band photo

Recording Lineup

Steph Honde – vocals, keyboards, guitars
Van Alexandre – lead guitars
JP Costa – rhythm guitars, vocals
Gui N Silva – bass guitars
Fred Mika – drums

Guest Artists

Ronnie Romero – vocals
Michael T Ross – keyboards
Ronnie Robson – bass
Rafael Milhomem – guitar

Sunesthesia – Tracklist

  1. Speed Warning #1
  2. Long Ago
  3. Scanning Skies
  4. Drown
  5. Sink Your Teeth Into Me
  6. By Any Means
  7. Pieces Of Fantasy
  8. Screen Screw
  9. Hit And Run
  10. A.S.A.P. (I Might Not Come Tomorrow)
  11. We Watch The Sparks Fly
  12. Only My Soul


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.