GWAR – The New Dark Ages

GWAR - New Dark Ages album cover art
  • 8.8/10
    GWAR - The New Dark Ages - 8.8/10


Label: Pit Records
Release date: June 3, 2022

User Review
5/10 (1 vote)

The Scumdogs Return

After 5 years since their last album of new original material, Gwar is back with The New Dark Ages, which hits the stores on June 3rd on Pit Records. With 14 brand-new songs of destruction and dastardly deeds, Gwar has based the album on a graphic novel to be released simultaneously.

In The Duoverse Of Absurdity

The album concept is tied to a companion graphic novel GWAR In The Duoverse of Absurdity, in which the band are sucked off into an alternate universe to do battle with their evil twins and the specter of rogue technology. Only Gwar can pull off this kind of dual media, and if the music and artwork on the album is any indication of what’s to come in the graphic novel, then fans are in for a real treat.

Final Notes

GWAR – The New Dark Ages is a great album, with killer production, amazing guitar tones, and of course over-the-top lyrics and stories. Michael Bishop (Blothar) does an excellent job on lead vocals, and does a fine job of carrying the torch for the Mighty Gwar. All-in-all, this is a terrific record, with plenty of kick ass Heavy Metal to satisfy even the most demanding of Gwar fans. This one’s a winner, and belongs in your music collection!

gwar - band image



The New Dark Ages – Tracklist

01. New Dark Age
02. Blood Libel
03. Berserker Mode
04. Mother Fucking Liar
05. Unto The Breach
06. Completely Fucked
07. The Cutter
08. Rise Again
09. The Beast Will Eat Itself
10. Venom of the Platypus
11. Ratcatcher
12. Bored to Death
13. Temple Ascent (Death Whistle Suite)
14. Starving Gods (Death Whistle Suite)
15. Deus Ex Monstrum (Death Whistle Suite)


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts


  1. Were you looking for a long winded break down of every track? And yes, it’s a brief review. If you think you can do better, then man up and become a reviewer.

  2. Is this what passes for a “review” these days? There’s absolutely no substance here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.