MANIMAL – Armageddon

MANIMAL - Armageddon
  • 8.9/10
    MANIMAL - Armageddon - 8.9/10


Label: AFM Records
Release date: October 8, 2021

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

All Guns Blazing

Though labeled Power Metal, Swedish band Manimal has given us something a little different on their new AFM release; Armageddon. Their 4th full length album since their inception in 2001, Armageddon is the product of chief songwriter and guitarist Henrik ‘Hank’ Stenroos. Vocalist Samuel ‘Sam’ Nyman adds his own flare and style to the music, with bassist Kenny Boufadene (ex-One Without, ex-The Deliverance) and drummer André Holmqvist (Ice Age, ex-Zero Illusions) completing the heavier than hell sound.

Where Riffs Are King

Armageddon is a well produced effort from a band that just keeps getting better. They proudly claim that their influences include Judas Priest, King Diamond and Queensrÿche, and the music bears that out on the powerful riffs and screaming vocals from the opening notes of “Burn In Hell”. Samuel Nyman offers his take on their genre and sound: “We are more than Power Metal. It was AFM that put Manimal into the Power Metal category with our first album, and we understand that completely because they had to put us in a genre to guide people. Power metal for me are bands like Helloween, Gamma Ray and Stratovarius; they have more up-tempo songs, more vocal harmonies. Sure, Manimal does have power metal elements but we’re not pure Power Metal. There is more to us than that and I think the new album is perfect example of that.”

Final Notes

This is a really good album that delivers the goods from start to finish. The guitars are heavy, and heavenly in their sound and execution. The vocals do remind of Rob Halford and King Diamond, with a seriously kick ass rhythm section to tie it all together. Armageddon is another great example of a band that knows how to self-produce, getting the exact sound they want on the finished product. Top tracks for this reviewer include “Burn In Hell”, Armageddon” and “Master of Pain”. Overall, this release is by far the band’s best, and a very worthy addition to your Heavy Metal collection.


Samuel Nyman – vocals
Henrik Stenroos – guitars
Kenny Boufadene – bass
André Holmqvist – drums

Between Worlds – Tracklist

01 – Burn In Hell
02 – Armageddon
03 – Slaves Of Babylon
04 – Forged In Metal
05 – Chains Of Fury
06 – Evil Soul
07 – Path To The Unknown
08 – Master Of Pain
09 – Insanity
10 – The Inevitable End


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.