POWERWOLF – Call Of The Wild

POWERWOLF - Call Of The Wild
  • 8/10
    POWERWOLF - Call Of The Wild - 8/10


Label: Napalm Records
Release date: July 16, 2021

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Metal with a Bite

German metal veterans Powerwolf are set to release their 7th studio album on Napalm Records titled Call of the Wild. Formed in 2005, the band features Attila Dorn (ex-Dragon’s Tongue, ex-Meskalin) on the vocals, Charles Greywolf (ex-Flowing Tears, ex-Heavatar) on bass guitar, Matthew Greywolf (ex-Flowing Tears, ex-Flowing Tears & Withered Flowers, ex-Red Aim) on guitars, Falk Maria Schlegel (ex-The Experience) playing keyboards, and Roel van Helden (Zero Hour, ex-Delphian) on the drums.

Heavy metal Opera

Call Of The Wild was crafted by the venerable production duo of Jens Bogren and Joost van den Broek at Swedish Fascination Street Studios, continuing the tradition of great production values and creating tight, catchy songs. The album is comprised of 11 tracks, and comes in at a refreshing 40 minutes listening time, with the longest song coming in under the 5 minute mark. Call of the Wild is at times symphonic with anthemic melodies backed by a choir, giving it an almost operatic feel. Add to that the rapid-fire drumming, tasteful guitar solos and sing-along melodies and you have an excellent, foot-stomping, head-banging collection of songs.

Final Notes

Powerwolf plays very uncomplicated heavy metal, focusing on the song first and foremost. The guitar work is very tasteful as melodies are king over riffing out. Call of the Wild offers us a great collection of werewolf tales set to heavy metal, with some stunning artwork to drive the point home. Traditional Metal, Power Metal and Symphonic Metal fans will all find something worth owning here, so sharpen your claws and get ready to sink your teeth into this hot release.

Powerwolf - band photo


Charles Greywolf – Bass, Guitars
Matthew Greywolf – Guitars
Falk Maria Schlegel – Keyboards
Attila Dorn – Vocals
Roel van Helden – Drums

Call of the Wild – Tracklist

01. Faster Than the Flame
02. Beast of Gévaudan
03. Dancing with the Dead
04. Varcolac
05. Alive or Undead
06. Blood for Blood (Faoladh)
07. Glaubenskraft
08. Call of the Wild
09. Sermon of Swords
10. Undress to Confess
11. Reverent of Rats


  • Bryce Van Patten

    Bryce is an audio engineer and a graphic designer here at Metal Express Radio. From the day he purchased his first album (Machine Head by Deep Purple), he has had a passion for heavy music, which has influenced his whole life. Bryce is from the great Pacific Northwest in USA, and has played in metal bands like Babylon, Holy Terror, The Wild Dogs, Warhead and Egypt through the 80s. He had his first interview for the Portland, Oregon publication The Rock Rag with guitarist Paul Gilbert in his Racer X days. Then he was honored to get to have drinks, and talk for an hour with the legendary Dan McCafferty of Nazareth for his second interview. In 2013, he spent an amazing hour talking to Andi Deris of Helloween, which was the high point of his heavy metal journalism.   In the year 2001, he formed Man in Black Music Publishing. They released recordings by several local bands, and in the spirit of the old Metal Massacre compilations, he created a 2-album series called The Defenders of Metal. The albums featured classic styled Metal bands from all around the world, with bands from Australia to England, and from Argentina to Russia. Currently, he is the producer/creator/vocalist of the Metal band The Black Tuesdays.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.