VANDENBERG – Vandenberg 2020

VANDENBERG - Vandenberg 2020
  • 8.8/10
    VANDENBERG - Vandenberg 2020 - 8.8/10


Mascot Records
Release date: May 29, 2020

User Review
8.5/10 (1 vote)

Adrian Vandenberg may be known to most rock fans as the guitarist for Whitesnake at the height of their career. Prior to that he released three albums under the Vandenberg moniker; Vandenberg (1982), Heading For a Storm (1983), and Alibi (1985). Between 2014 and 2018 Adrian released two albums with his Blues-based rock project Vandenberg’s Moonkings. For his latest version of Vandenberg, the guitar slinger wanted to kick things up a notch from what he had done in the past. Adrian got to chatting with current Rainbow and Lords of Black vocalist Ronnie Romero and discovered he was a huge fan. Their songwriting efforts were put forth on Vandenberg’s latest release Vandenberg 2020.

Straight out of the gate “Shadows of the Night” comes at you with rapid-fire drums, Vanderberg’s fiery guitars, and the powerful throaty vocals of Ronnie Romero. “Freight Train” continues the onslaught with an ascending/descending riff, Koen Herfst’s galloping drums, and a mighty catchy chorus. “Hell & High Water” has a dark Dio-era Black Sabbath feel to it. Romero really shows what he is capable of vocally here, while Adrian races up and down the neck of his guitar. “Let It Rain” starts off somber like a ballad, but quickly kicks up the energy and emotion. The band pulls off some great vocal harmonies as well.

There are bound to be mixed feelings about “Shout.” Some will say it’s an incredible homage to Ronnie James Dio. Others will say it’s a rip off of “Stand Up and Shout.” No matter which way you feel, this anthemic rocker is sure to have the crowds singing and screaming along with it. “Light Up the Sky” recalls early Vandenberg albums with it’s 80s style vibe. The group includes a reworking of the 1982 Vandenberg power ballad “Burning Heart.” There are minimal changes music wise. Vocally the new version has a little more “oomph.” The mixed tempo track “Skyfall” closes the album in epic fashion.

Vandenberg 2020 is the most dynamic and modern rock album that Adrian Vandenberg has ever put out. His pairing with Ronnie Romero has brought out more power, energy, and emotion from the group. Don’t expect flashy guitar runs and solos or blues based riffs like past Vandenberg releases. Vandenberg 2020 is a group effort focusing on killer rock songs.



  1. Shadows of the Night
  2. Freight Train
  3. Hell and High Water
  4. Let It Rain
  5. Ride Like The Wind
  6. Shout
  7. Shitstorm
  8. Light Up The Sky
  9. Burning Heart
  10. Skyfall


  • George Dionne

    George was a contributor here at Metal Express Radio, reviewing albums and conducting interviews, out of Massachusetts, USA. George has contributed to numerous music related websites and blogs, and even managed his own from 2004-2009. George's first assignment was covering a live show by the mighty GWAR. By contrast his later assignments featured Judas Priest, Van Halen, and Bon Jovi. George was also the front man for the South Eastern Massachusetts cover band Sound Tower from 2009-2015.  Sound Tower played 300+ shows across MA and had two original songs on the Cape Cod radio station PIXY 103. George enjoys a good whiskey, scotch, and/or bourbon and fights crime in his spare time.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.