at Vivint Smart Home Arena, Salt Lake City, UT, USA, April 13, 2018

JUDAS PRIEST (Live at Vivint Smart Home Arena, Salt Lake City, UT, USA, April 13, 2018)
Photo: Jerry Alperin

Review and Photos by Jerry Alperin

When you hear the name Judas Priest, you know what to expect, loud, thunderous Heavy Metal. From their early beginning in 1969 in industrial West Bromwich, Judas Priest’s rise to fame didn’t begin until the addition of Rob Halford in 1973, replacing Al Atkins. And K.K. Downing in 1974, which gave them their legendary dual guitar attack. This led to the release of Rocka Rolla in 1974.

So here we are, 2018 and only 2 of the original members left, after Glenn Tipton announced his retirement earlier this year. Were the current members ready, willing and able to satisfy the hungry Metalheads in Salt Lake City?

The answer is Yes.

The show opened with them exploding into their title track from their new album Firepower and it didn’t stop from there. The synergy between Richie Faulkner and Andy Sneap was spot on. Although Sneap’s stage presence seemed more like a backup roll.

Ian Hill and Scott Travis kept the pounding going all night, and didn’t miss a beat. Their sound could be heard clearly throughout the arena.

The setlist (see below) took us through a journey of the band’s music throughout the years.

Music from such albums as Sad Wings of Destiny, Stained Glass, British Steel and Screaming for Vengeance, ignited the crowd.

The band also performed songs from their later albums Turbo and PainKiller and ending the journey with music from their new album Firepower.

With a new album, successful tour and induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (long overdue), 2018 looks like the icing on the cake for this Legendary and influential band.
So what does the future look like for Judas Priest? Will they return in 2019? I guess only time will tell.


  1. Firepower
  2. Running Wild
  3. Grinder
  4. Sinner
  5. The Ripper
  6. Lightning Strikes
  7. Bloodstone
  8. Saints In Hell
  9. Turbo Lover
  10. Green Manalishi
  11. Evil Never Dies
  12. Some Head Are Gonna Roll
  13. Breaking The Law
  14. Hell Bent For Leather
  15. Painkiller


  1. Electric Eye
  2. Metal Gods
  3. You’ve Got Another Thing Comin
  4. Living After Midnight


  • Jerry Alperin

    Jerry is a reviewer, photographer and interviewer here at Metal Express Radio. Originally from the East Coast, he always wanted to find a warmer climate to call home. Fortunately for him, he wound up in San Francisco where the people are colorful, the sushi is delicious and the music diverse. He has been involved in the music industry in one form or another for over 30 years.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.