TANKARD – Hymns For The Drunk

TANKARD - Hymns For The Drunk
  • 7/10
    TANKARD – Hymns For The Drunk - 7/10


AFM Records
Release date: January 12, 2018

User Review
10/10 (1 vote)

Tankard describes Hymns For The Drunk as the ultimate ‘best of’ album featuring AFM Records recordings from the 2002 to 2010.  As you might expect of a compilation album spanning nearly a decade, there are variances in production and mixing which give it an uneven quality.  What doesn’t vary is the unapologetic high speed Thrash Metal heard throughout.

The songs are lyrically beer and good cheer inspired; though the humor is maintained even when the band wanders off topic as in “Metaltometal” and “Zombie Attack”.  While the lyrics are rarely serious, the music is much the opposite.  It’s hard-hitting, up-tempo, and derivative of bands such as Slayer, Testament, and Cliff Burton era Metallica. The opening of “Slipping From Reality” sounds like Metallica’s “Ride The Lightning” and the main guitar riff from “Metaltometal” is very similar to “Trailblazers” from Hammerfall.  Fans will likely notice a pre-2002 four-song section on the latter half of the album.  These songs, including the aforementioned “Zombie Attack”, are highlights and were recorded for a compilation released in 2007.  Other highlights are songs from the 2006 release The Beauty And The Beer such as “The Beauty And The Beast”.  Production on these later releases cleanly separates the band elements while the songs from 2002’s B-Day that lead off the album are the sonic equivalent of a sludge cocktail.

While Hymns For The Drunk shouldn’t be viewed as a career spanning greatest hits, it succeeds as a snapshot of the band for these years.  Recommended for Thrash Metal fans who missed this era the first time around.


Track list

  1. Rectifier
  2. Need Money For Beer
  3. New Liver Please!
  4. Slipping From Reality
  5. Die With A Beer In Your Hand
  6. We’re Coming Back
  7. We Still Drink The Old Ways
  8. The Beauty And The Beast
  9. Metaltometal
  10. Zombie Attack
  11. (Empty) Tankard
  12. The Morning After
  13. Medley (Alcohol, Puke, Mon Cheri, Wonderful Life)
  14. Octane Warriors
  15. Stay Thirsty!
  16. Time Warp
  17. Rules For Fool


Andreas Geremia – vocals
Andreas Gutjahr – guitars
Frank Thorwarth – bass
Olaf Zissel – drums


  • Zac Halter

    Zac was a reviewer here at Metal Express Radio, hailing from Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA. His interest in heavy music began in the 70s with his father’s Johnny Cash albums. After cousins introduced him to Steppenwolf, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, KISS, Black Sabbath and Deep Purple, Johnny Cash didn’t stand a chance. The 80s were spent in full pursuit of everything Metal: searching for new music at record stores, listening to albums, studying the covers and sleeves, and attending concerts. In the 90s, he preferred Death Metal over Grunge and hosted the Death Metal Juggernaut on WUPX in Marquette, Michigan. It was advertised as the only prime time Death Metal radio show in the country.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.