LECHERY – We Are All Born Evil

LECHERY - We Are All Born Evil
  • 7.5/10
    LECHERY - We Are All Born Evil - 7.5/10


Bleeding Music Records
Release date: January 19, 2018

User Review
8/10 (1 vote)

Lechery politely describes their music as “…songs based on guitar riffs and melodies with a solid rhythm ground.” Their third album delivers ten songs featuring menacing guitar riffs with bludgeoning drum beats, subterranean bass tones, and raspy narration. The songs are anthemic, simple in structure with uncomplicated chord progressions. Lyrically the songs are an amalgam of cliché Heavy Metal catch words. Poorly written and performed fist-pumping Metal anthems makes any Heavy Metal fan hang their head in shame and scurry off to find a hole to hide in.

Thankfully, from the opening riff of “Heavy Metal Invasion” to the closing stanza of “Tip Of The Whip”, Lechery delivers Heavy Metal comfort music as easy to listen to as putting on a worn leather jacket. The guitar sound and song pacing is reminiscent of Point Of Entry Judas Priest and their contemporaries Iron Savior. The mix, while strong on guitar, still allows space for thunderous drumming and vocals. The raspy vocals fit well but aren’t particularly powerful or offer variety. These limitations are noticeable on “Even A Hero Must Die” a song which reaches a bit too far for an epic feel. Ironically, the following song, “Spineless”, hits a vocal sweet spot and is a highlight track. The gang choruses are variably mixed; they’re fluffy and emasculating on “Let It Out”, an otherwise stellar song. On “We’re All Born Evil” they are weakly mixed but on “Hold On To The Night” they blend well.

Despite minor issues with mixing, We Are All Born Evil is an optimistic start to a new year in Heavy Metal. There are those fans who will recoil at the simplistic lyrics but many others will find guilty pleasure singing along and reveling in the hook laden riffs.



  1. Heavy Metal Invasion
  2. Let It Out
  3. We’re All Born Evil
  4. Rule The World
  5. Hold On To The Night
  6. Breaker Of Chains
  7. Sacrifice
  8. Even A Hero Must Die
  9. Spineless
  10. Tip Of The Whip


Martin Bengtsson, Vocals, Guitar
Fredrik Nordstrandh, Guitar
Martin Karlsson, Bass
Kristian Wallman, Drums


  • Zac Halter

    Zac was a reviewer here at Metal Express Radio, hailing from Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA. His interest in heavy music began in the 70s with his father’s Johnny Cash albums. After cousins introduced him to Steppenwolf, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, KISS, Black Sabbath and Deep Purple, Johnny Cash didn’t stand a chance. The 80s were spent in full pursuit of everything Metal: searching for new music at record stores, listening to albums, studying the covers and sleeves, and attending concerts. In the 90s, he preferred Death Metal over Grunge and hosted the Death Metal Juggernaut on WUPX in Marquette, Michigan. It was advertised as the only prime time Death Metal radio show in the country.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.