DESTRUCTION – All Hell Breaks Loose (Remastered)

DESTRUCTION – All Hell Breaks Loose (Remastered)
  • 7.5/10
    DESTRUCTION – All Hell Breaks Loose (Remastered) - 7.5/10


Metal Mind Productions
Release Date: 2010-04-26

User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

After finding himself elsewhere, Marcel Schmier returned to Destruction since his last performance with the band on Release From Agony. After his return, Destruction recorded All Hell Breaks Loose, which presented them with a fiercer attitude, a new drummer, and a hefty production. The album itself was released in 2000. This year, it is the ten-year anniversary for Schmier’s official return to the band and Destruction’s launch of the new millennia. Although a proud member of the holy German Thrash triplet, Hell hasn’t broken loose with this album.

Metal Mind Productions offered themselves to reissue this album and the two after it. The offering consists of remastered tracks plus inserting the remastered version of one of the band’s memorabilia demos, Bestial Invasion Of Hell, which was released in 1984. Die-hard fans of Destruction, especially the ones who admire Schmier, will get a kick out of this new re-release. Although in general, this is surely not one of the best Destruction releases, particularly if you compare it to the next releases.

Right before reaching the music, the production on this album has its highs and lows. This is the first Destruction album that showed the true power of their Thrash Metal. Almost every instrument received top gain levels, mainly the guitar and bass. With this type of aggressive sound, this is one hell of a slaughter. The downside is that with an awesome powerful sound, there are other things to consider. The guitars, on most songs, take charge over the vocals. Moreover, the rhythm sections cut through the heart of solos, and there are some great solos. Even the remastering crew of Metal Mind wasn’t able to outlast those issues. More or less, these technical shortcomings didn’t ruin the listening; however, it can be a bit of a mess like after a chainsaw massacre.

When it comes to the tracks, this album can be divided four ways. One, the bombastic start of wonderful return (tracks 1-6). Second, the downfall of class (tracks 7-9). Third, there is maybe room for improvement; yet, the drop to banality (tracks 10-12) – great performance by the band’s producer, Peter Tagtgren on number 10. Fourth and last part, memorabilia that matters and good old times to remember (tracks 13-18), that was when Iron Maiden were the strongest influence of Destruction. Overall, All Hell Breaks Loose is a nice comeback for Schmier, however, his follow up can be described as the true return.

Steinmetal’s Highlights marked on the Tracklist:

  1. Intro
  2. The Final Curtain
  3. Machinery of Lies
  4. Tears of Blood
  5. Devastation of Your Soul
  6. The Butcher Strikes Back
  7. World Domination of Pain
  8. X-treme Measures
  9. All Hell Breaks Loose
  10. Total Desaster 2000
  11. Visual Prostitution
  12. Kingdom of Damnation
  13. Mad Butcher
  14. Total Desaster
  15. Antichrist
  16. Frontbeast
  17. Satan’s Vengeance
  18. Tormentor


Marcel “Schmier” Schirmer – Bass, Vocals
Mike Sifringer – Guitars
Sven Vormann – Drums


  • Lior Stein

    Lior was a reviewer, DJ and host for our Thrash Metal segment called Terror Zone, based out of Haifa, Israel. He attributes his love of Metal to his father, who got him into bands like Deep Purple, Rainbow, Boston, and Queen. When he was in junior high he got his first Iron Maiden CD, The Number Of The Beast. That's how he started his own collection of albums. Also, he's the guitarist, vocalist and founder of the Thrash Metal band Switchblade. Most of his musical influences come from Metal Church, Vicious Rumors, Overkill, and Annihilator.

    View all posts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.